Australian Women’s Writers Challenge 2013

A couple of years ago I noted that I was reading predominantly American and British authors and wanted to make a change. It’s not that I don’t love my American and British authors, because some of my all time favourite authors are Americans and British. It’s just that being Australian and all I am an avid supporter of the Australian Book Industry. So upon making this discover I tried to swing a large proportion of my focus onto Australian writers. For a year or two this meant that I kept reading all my favourite authors whilst also introducing myself to some homegrown talent. And then I discovered this amazing site called goodreads, and the Aussie Readers group there and heard about a new imitative (in 2012) to promote female Australian Writers for a bias had emerged in mainstream publishing and awareness in Australia.

The Australian Women’s Writers (AWW) challenge runs from January 1 2013 until December 31 2013 and requires its participants to choose a level that they are comfortable at to read and review if possible as many Australian female authors as they can. The three distinct levels are:

 Stella – read at least four (4) novels and review three (3)

 Miles – read at least six (6) novels and review four (4)

 Franklin – read at least ten (10) novels and review six (6).

I will admit, to not really knowing what I was doing last year, but this year I am fully committed to this cause and have signed up to the Australian Women’s Writers Challenge for 2013 at Franklin level. This means that I intend to read at least ten (10) authors and review at least four (4); I intent to read and review many more than this.

Although it’s not necessary, I’ve already chosen quite a number of novels that I would like to read this year as part of this challenge. I’m not sure if I will make it through them all, and I’m sure I will read many more that are not listed here, but I am willing to give it ago and introduce myself to a number of new authors along the way.

My list so far in no particular order to read:

A Corner of White by Jaclyn Moriarty
Dead Heat by Bronwyn Parry
Finnikin of the Rock by Melina Marchetta
Secrets of the Tides by Hannah Richell
The Great Deception by Joy Chambers
The Convent by Maureen McCarthy
Bridie’s Choice by Karly Lane
Man Drought by Rachael Johns
Baby Did A Bad Bad Thing by Gabrielle Lord
A Changing Land by Nicole Alexander

By clicking on either the title or the authors name you will be take to Good reads to view each respective book and its authors information there.

At the completion of this challenge I will post another list of how many books I read and how many I reviewed. Wish me luck 🙂 

 If you’re interested in joining the ranks of people supporting Australian Female Writer’s you can join up here.

Note that at though this post is going up now, I did start this challenge as of January 1, 2013 and have read and reviewed some novels already for this challenge. All reviews part taking in this will state that they have beenr ead as part of the Australian Women’s Challenge 2013 or they will feature the AWW badge from above.

Until next time – Happy Reading.

Jess

2 thoughts on “Australian Women’s Writers Challenge 2013

  1. Allvce says:

    Congratulations on starting this challenge!
    Have you thought about reading the name sake of the challenge levels? A while ago I read Miles Franklin’s My Brilliant Career and was very moved.
    Good luck with the reading!

Leave a Reply

