Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Lani Taylor

Hodder Paperbacks

August 5,  2012

418 pages

5 out of 5 stars

Wow, simply put this book is amazing. The writing is effortless, and beautiful and poignant; it’s unbelievable. In a good way. I found that when I wasn’t reading it, I was constantly thinking about the characters, their lives and the story; truthfully, I was counting down the hours until I could read more of it again.

I don’t feel the need to recount the plot line right now, as so many other reviews do, but I feel its important to mention that this book, and Taylor’s sequel, flooded the market in Aus with so much hype and admiration and celebrating that I initially turned away from the book and didn’t give it a second thought. I’m not sure what changed my mind, and made me not only purchase the book and read it, but I’m glad something did for the simple fact that this is not another ‘Luce and Daniel’ story, nor is it like any other angel and demon series that is currently flooding bookstores at the moment. And thus it is well worth giving a go and a bit of your time.

Laini Taylor’s characters are vivid and troubled and so alive it is breathtaking. While I understand that the book is marketed as young adult, it doesn’t read that way. And while it may too have ‘angels’ and ‘demons’ featured, its not the same as what is currently flooding the market.

At the very end of my edition, there is a two page note titled “Laini Taylor: Why I Wrote Daughter of Smoke and Bone”. I read it expecting the usual responses and instead found something so much more, more alive, more honest, more everything. And like this note, I think that is why this book, although fantasy and set within such a different world, resonated with me as a reader, as a person, and as an apsiring author so much. Below are two of my favourite quotes.

“I write because, as wonderful as life is – and it is truly wonderful – it isn’t enough. It does not, for example contain dragons. I find this unsatisfactory. So I read. And I write.”

“I think that the books that make us readers leave an imprint that will always seek to be filled, and that the dreams that fill us and haunt us during our most powerful years of becoming, stay with us, in some form, forever.”
 

 
This review originally appeared on Goodreads on November 31, 2012 and can be found here: http://www.goodreads.com/review/show/378052128
Leave a Reply

