Books you just can’t wait to read…

At the start of each year I seem to accumulate a list of books that I absolutely must have the second they are released. These books are usually sequels in series I’ve started, or sometimes stand alones by some of my favourite authors. Occasionally an author I’ve never read makes the list because the blurb of a book is just astounding and I simply must have it. Either way I traditionally make a list in early January and February of all the books that I know are being released so that I can make sure I get them as soon as possible. Usually it also means that I know how much time I have to re-read a series before the next book arrives. This year there is quite a number of books that I am eagerly awaiting to be released.

As usual I started this year’s list in January. Initially, it started out as a  single post-it note that quickly became filled on both sides. Then came a second equally filled post-it note. After losing one post-it note and finding it again, only to re-lose both post-it notes and find them again I came to the conclusion that I needed a new list on a bigger piece of paper that wouldn’t get lost so easily. Or a new safe keeping spot. After transfering them over to a single A4 page I was surprised to see just how many I had listed for the next couple of months.

Normally I don’t share this list with anyone. I put it in my wallet and gradually get excited the closer we get to each book being released. After having ‘completed’ my list this year however, I was surprised to learn that an author I’ve read before has not only a new book being released this year, but its coming out next month! Even with my trusty list prepared and ready to go, there is always so many books that fly under the radar. Which got me thinking; how many books that are about to be released (0r have been released already) slip under someone’s radar?  I imagine quite a few.

Here is sample of some of the books I’m eagerly (read impatiently) waiting to be released. The dates shown are expected publication dates and are naturally subject to change. I’ve linked as many book titles as I can to goodreads. Some titles however, with their publication date still a while off, have no infomation listed there yet and thus there is no point linking these pages as of yet.

 “Just One Day” by Gayle Forman – January 8  (YA)

Breaking Point” by Kristen Simmons – February 2 (YA)

 “The Storyteller” by Jodi Picoult –  February 27 (Contemporary Fiction)

The Sunburnt Country” by Fiona Palmer – February 27 (Rural/Contemporary Fiction)

The Husband’s Secret” by Liane Moriarty – March 17 (Contemporary Fiction)

The Wild Girl” by Kate Forsyth  – March 18 (Historical Fiction)

“The Farmer’s Wife” – Rachael Treasure – April 1 2013 (Rural/Contemporary Fiction)

This Is What Happy Looks Like” by Jennifer E Smith – April 2  (YA)

Half Moon Bay” by Helene Young – June 1, 2013 ( Romantic suspense/Contemporary Fiction)

 “Goddess” by Joesphine Angelini – May 28 (YA)

Of Triton” by Anna Banks – May 28 (YA)

Matthew Reilly’s Untitled book that is set to come out in October.

I’m sure there’s many more that I’ve missed, and my original list is at least three times this long. I’m interested in hearing about books you’re eargely awaiting for? Is there anything you can’t wait for? From those listed above, some of the books I am looking forward to the most are:  ‘Breaking Point’ by Kirsten Simmons, “The Storyteller” by Jodi Picoult, ‘The Husband’s Secret‘ by Liane Moriarty, ‘The Wild Girl’ by Kate Forsyth, ‘Half Moon Bay’ by Helene Young and “Goddess‘ by Joesphine Angelini.

So my question to you is, what books can’t you wait to be released this year? Are you a book lister? Or are you more comfortable browsing your local store/online retailer when you have the time?

Until next time – Happy Reading,

Jess

2 thoughts on “Books you just can’t wait to read…

  1. Allyce says:

    Hmm that’s a tough one. I have a few authors that I love but I generally find that I’m not too fussed or upset if I don’t read the book straight away. Take Harry Potter for example, despite being a huge fan of the books, I was often fine waiting a few weeks to read the newest book.
    I was excited for the new Ben Elton release but when I found out about its subject matter, that is the book is set in Nazi Germany, I lost interest. Not too keen on dramas so I am quite happy waiting to read that book 🙂

    • Jess says:

      I think a lot of the time its not so much about me needing to read them right away, its about me having them to read as soon as I can if that makes any sense. All that said though, there are a few authors and series that the second I get my hands on my own copy of the book, I will stop reading whatever I had been reading, and stop doing anything else until the book is read.

      When reading I get into this mindset some times when I really really want to know how things end (not always happily ever afters, but a satisfactory ending for the characters involved), and more often than not I find myself wanting to know what happens to the characters once the books ended. To that end, I hate when a novel ends with an ambigious ending. It drives me mental. The need to know reader in my head can’t deal with it! Thus, where my lists originated from.

Leave a Reply

