‘Waiting On’ Thursday: ‘The Wild Girl’ by Kate Forsyth

Hosted by Jill @ Breaking the Spin

“Waiting On’ Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Jill @ Breaking the Spine where by participants post their most anticipated new releases.

So normally I’d post my ‘Waiting On’ post on Wednesday, but I’ve been sick this week and had a huge weekend in Brisbane for the Australian Romance Readers Convention (ARRC) 2013 (I can not talk it up enough; they hold these huge conferences every two years all around the country and they are amazing!), so I’m a little bit behind. But while my posts have been missing I’ve been reading like crazy.

Anyway… this week’s ‘Waiting On’ novel is…

The Wild Girl by Kate Forsyth

 Release date: March 18 2013

Random House Australia

Good reads synopsis:

Dortchen Wild fell in love with Wilhelm Grimm the first time she saw him.

Growing up in the small German kingdom of Hessen-Cassel in early Nineteenth century, Dortchen Wild is irresistibly drawn to the boy next door, the young and handsome fairy tale scholar Wikhelm Grimm.

It is a time of War, tyranny and terror. Napoleon Bonaparte wants to conquer all of Europe, and Hessen-Cassel is one of the first kingdoms to fall. Forced to live under oppressive French rule, the Grimm brothers decide to save old tales that had once been told by the firesides of houses grand and small all over the land.

Dortchen knows many beautiful old stories, such as ‘Hansel and Gretel’, ‘The Frog King’ and ‘Six Swans’. As she tells them to Wilhelm, their love blossoms. Yet the Grimm family is desperately poor, and Dortchen’s father has other plans for his daughter. Marriage is an impossible dream.

Dortchen can only hope that happy endings are not just the stuff of fairy tales.

I read Kate Forsyth’s Bitter Greens last year and fell in love with it. The story was breath taking and I quickly found myself addicted and then proceed to force the book onto many other friends and readers (most of whom loved it as well I should mention). That book rated highly in my top five reads for 2012 – no easy feat considering I read 100 books last year alone. Furthermore, it also firmly positioned Kate Forsyth on my favourite authors list and authors to watch list.

Over the Australia day weekend, Kate Forsyth participated in an Australia Day Book Blog Hop giveaway where she first mentioned her new book – The Wild Girl. And I think I fell in love at once more with a book. Having studied fairytales in both their original forms, annotated versions and their modern retellings, this book appeals to me on so many levels. I also particularly love that the story is about Whilhelm Grimm – for those who don’t know, the Grimm Brothers are responsible for the collecting and recording fairytales in their first written form; things were changed to suit their needs of course, but their accomplishments is still amazing at any rate. I simply cannot wait for this book to be released. Since learning that The Wild Girl was to soon to be released I have personally devoured everything related to it that I can get my hands on, so I think it’s safe to say, I’m a bit excited and definitely waiting on this book. Good news for other Kate Forsyth fans, it’s released in under two weeks!!!!! I can’t wait.

For more information on Kate Forsyth visit her website, her facebook, Bitter Greens goodreads entryand you can purchase The Wild Girl from the following retailers:

This month ‘The Wild Girl’ has also been chosen and featured as the touring book for Get Reading. More information regarding the tour schedule and the Get Reading Program can be found here:  http://www.getreading.com.au/ and  http://www.getreading.com.au/march-book-of-the-month/

Random House Australia have also been kind enough to offer free samples of the first chapter. To read the first chapter head on over to: http://www.randomhouse.com.au/books/kate-forsyth/the-wild-girl-9781741668490.aspx

Leave a Reply

