Liebster Blog Award

After a long night at work I came home to the news that Kerry Letheby has nominated The Never Ending Bookshelf in the Liebster Blog Award. The Liebster what I hear you ask? Well until about half an hour ago I had no idea either. The Liebster Blog Award is an award bestowed upon a blogger by their peers, and is thus a way for a blogger to both praise and recommend their peers work and efforts. My goggle researched leads me to believe that the origin of the Award is not really known, and that it really acts as a sort of chain mail Award for bloggers. As to the name, Kerry Letheby’s post informed me that the word ‘Liebster’ is “German with a range of meanings, such as ‘sweetest’, ‘kindest’, ‘dearest’, ‘beloved’, ‘lovely’, ‘kind’, pleasant’, ‘valued’ and ‘endearing'”. All of which sounds pretty cool to me.

Having been nominated for the award myself, I now wish to pass it along and nominate some of my favourite blogs. It’s up to them how they respond, and if they do at all, I just think it’s a bit of fun and a great feeling to know someone else not only reads your blog/work, but enjoys doing so enough to nominate you for the Liebster Blog Award too.

The main criteria of the Liebster Blog Award is as follows:

1.The nominated blogger must post 10 facts about themselves.
2.They must then answer 10 questions from the blogger who nominated them.
3.Then nominate 10 bloggers and give them 10 questions to answer.
4.Link to your ten bloggers in your blog post.
5.Let the bloggers know you have nominated them.
6.Don’t nominate the blogger who nominated you.

Without further ado, here are my ten facts:

1. I hate the word Hello. Hey is fine. In fact I prefer to use Hey or Hi. Hello irks me for some reason.
2. I have a serious book obsession. If you could see my room you would understand. There are books in bookshelves, covering desks, in piles on floors, in cupboards. Everywhere you look, there they are. I don’t regret them, but I have acknowledged the issue and now limit my purchases. Hence the blog name; it just fits so well.
3. I have a weakness for Ice Hockey. But I can’t skate. At all. Barely even with one of those assisted frames they give you when you start out.
4. I prefer to read and write then watch TV and movies.
5. When reading, I sometimes need to flick ahead a few pages to check if a character is still alive or that they are making an appearance soon. It’s blasphemy I know!
6. I get way too attached to fictional characters.
7. And if I share favourite characters with you, you should probably watch out and keep your distance. For some strange reason, my favourite characters almost ALWAYS manage to get killed off or die. It’s really not fair.
8. I can’t name my all time favourite book. It’s too hard. It feels like your asking me which child (that I don’t have) do I like best. I can’t do it. But Maureen McCarthy’s ‘When You Wake And Find Me Gone’ is the book that I credit with igniting my love affair with the written word and reading.
9. I’m mad about Ireland. Completely obsessed with everything to do about the country.
10. I was reluctant to get join the ebook movement. In fact I resisted everything about it quite strongly for a while. I now own a Kindle and am quite addicted. I still prefer paperbacks more often than not though.

Kerry Letheby’s questions:

1.What is your favourite city in the world and why?
Dublin Ireland. See above obsession. I haven’t been there yet, but I daydream about it all the time! I’ll let you know in a few months what it’s real attraction for me is once I’ve visited πŸ™‚

2.What was your first job after you left school?
I started my first job prior to finishing school. I’m still working for the same department store some nine years later. Retail is not something I want to stay in forever, but I’m happy where I am at the moment (most of the time) as I get to talk books all the time πŸ™‚

3.What was your favourite toy?
I was given a Cabbage Patch Doll when I was One. I took that doll everywhere with me and she still has pride of place today in my bookshelf.

4.If you could choose any animal as a pet what would it be and why?
A Dolphin. I once tried to convince my Dad that we could have one as a pet because we had a pool already and it was fate. He wasn’t convinced. I have swarm with them in the wild and absolutely loved it.

5.Which season is your favourite and why?
I like Spring. Not too hot. Not too cold. Decision making is not my forte, and I’ve never really made up my mind on whether I like the hot (Swimming, out door walks) or cold better (Hot Chocolates, donnas and a good book in bed and the Ice Hockey!).

6.Which fictional character would you like to invite to dinner and why?
Embarrassing as it may be to admit, James and Lily Potter from Harry Potter. They are my favourite characters from the series and they are dead before the main story opens. For some reason they just fascinate me.

7.Who is your favourite film star?
Gerald Butler was the first name that came to mind. He’s Irish :p

8. Do you ever lend books to your friends?
All the time. I borrow books from them just as often. If I absolutely love it though I go out and buy my own copy as well πŸ™‚

9.What is your favourite place to have a picnic?
By the lake. It’s calming. In another extreme I love the idea of the country and rolling hills.

10. Describe your ideal day in twenty words or less.
Happy. Sunny but not overly hot. Filled with good company and an even better book.

To carry on this lovely tradition I’m tagging and awarding the Liebster Blog Award to the following ten blogs:

1. Lost In A Good Book.

2. Things I like & Why You Should Too.

3. Book’d Out.

4. Write Note Reviews

5. Helene Young

6. Kate Forsyth

7. Natalie Gayle

8. Rather Be Reading (Magan & Estelle)

9. Rachael Johns

10. Book Journey

And their ten questions are:

1. What made you want to start blogging?
2. If you could ask an author anything what would it be (and to who)?
3. Do you get attached to fictional characters? And if so, what draws you to them?
4. Apart from good writing, what qualities make up a great read/book to you?
5. What book do you wish you had written yourself?
6. If you could have any job in the world, what would it be? (It can be as outlandish as you dare)
7. If you could live any fictional character’s life for a day who would it be and where would you go?
8. If you could go anywhere in the world where would you choose?
9. Do you prefer short stories or novels?
10. Do you read more ebooks or paperbacks? Do you have a preference?

2 thoughts on “Liebster Blog Award

  1. Rachael Johns says:

    Fabulous answers to fabulous questions! And I love the facts about you!! You have just made me realise I HATE the word HELLO as well! And I LOVED my Cabbage Patch Dolls. Totally agree with you about Lily and James Potter too. I wish JK would write a prequel. Thanks for the nomination, I’ll do my best to get to it ASAP!! x

    • Jess says:

      Thanks Rachael. It dawned on me at 13 that I hated the word Hello, and until now no one else has ever admitted to thinking the same. So thank you for that too.

      I look forward to reading your answers and seeing your post πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

