November is for NANO

Yay! It’s the 1st of November and that means it’s time for NANO (otherwise known as National Novel Writing Month of November).

Every November I join a group of crazily enthusiastic writers who attempt to write 50 000 words in the month of December. You read that right by the way. Throughout November I am trying to write 50 000 words in a novel. It’s not as hard as it sounds when you break it down to 1667 words a day or 2400 a week day if you want your weekends free.

This is something like my third attempt at it, and I’m hoping to make my second ever win. To be deemed a winner, all you have to do is reach the 50 000 word limit within the month of November, and verify your word count via their website. The site gives you a little purple badge to say you won, and you get this awesome warm and accomplished feeling. In 2013, I’m trying for win number two. I’ve attempted four times (including this year) and have only been successful once – which was surprising because at the time I was completing a MAJOR rural road trip of Aus with my crazy family in a camp-a-van. It was an amazing experience, and one that I think kept popping up at various stages throughout that particular story.

This year I’m not quite as hopeful to finish, with a huge workload, and extra dance rehearsals for our concert, my time is sparse and virtually non-existent, but God I’m going to give it my best. Each Sunday or so, I’m going to try and give a rough update on how I’m going – I’m hoping to guilt myself into going a hell of a lot better than my non-start of last year! If you want to give NANO a go or read more about the amazing concept that it is, head on over to the National Novel Writing Month of November Website and check it out. Until next week, wish me luck!

 

 

Leave a Reply

