And So The Silly Season Begins …

As I’ve gotten older, the magic of Christmas has sadly worn off with more and more years in retail being bullied by Christmas hours, frustrated management and angry customers. In fact the last two haven’t felt like Christmas at all, but rather simply another day in the midst of a busy week. This year I plan to change all that. This year I’m hoping to maintain my enthusiasm for Christmas and keep my Christmas Spirits alive. I plan to achieve this by reading as many Christmas themed books as I can find, listening to as many Christmas Carols as I can stand (which isn’t usually that many given the way they are overplayed at work) and generally updating this blog as best I can. I know the last one isn’t strictly Christmas based, but I’ve had a rough couple of months lately and reading and blogging used to make me happy and I’m hoping that they still can.

In order to keep the Christmas Spirit alive and well within myself this year, I have set the challenge of reading and reviewing as many as Christmas themed narratives as I can fit into December. Having complete my draft list of books yesterday, all I can say is that I am excited to get going with this self-appointed challenge and looking forward to the wonderful stories that I am yet to read.

So far this is a list of the books I aim to have read by the time the big day rolls around:

     

 

December’s Wish by Karly Lane

The Kissing Season by Rachael Johns

Christmas with The Alexanders (The Alexanders # 3.5) by M. Malone

A Bush Christmas by Maragerta Osborn

Let It Snow by John Green, Maureen Johnson, Lauren Myracle

The Christmas Gift by Monica McInery

Secret Santa by Rhian Cahill

 

What are you planning on reading in the lead up to Christmas? Do you have any Christmas themed books that get you ready for the festive season and the big day? I’d love to hear about them if you do 🙂

Happy Readings and Merry Christmas!

Jess

 

 

Leave a Reply

