Books That Make Me Happy…

Today I’m struggling. I spent a lot of the morning upset. And that got me thinking about what makes me happy. Usually my answer to questions like that is pretty simple. My Family, my Friends and books. In the desperate need of a pick up I headed to two of my favourite coffee tables books that never fail to put a smile on my face.

The first of these books is Underwater Dogs by Seth Casteel.

Published October 2012 by Little Brown

Underwater Dogs is an adorable little book ideal for any dog lover.
The concept is original and quirky and the result is astounding; both beautiful and breathtaking and so full of emotion and personality.
This collection of photos can brighten up even the toughest of days and bring a smile to your face. Which is perhaps why I love this book so much.

 

The Second such book was released earlier this year by Harper Designs and is Shake by Carli Davidson.

Published August 27 2013 by Harper Designs

Original, amusing, and brilliantly documented, Shake is a heartwarming collection of sixty-one beguiling dogs caught in the most candid of moments: mid-shake. This glorious, graphic volume will stop you dead in your tracks as you are presented with images of man’s best friend caught in contortion: hair wild, eyes darting, ears and jowls flopping every which way.

With Shake, photographer Carli Davidson proves how eager and elated we are to see our pets in new ways. The result is a one-of-a-kind book: a colorful assemblage of photographs that are simultaneously startling and endearing, consistently hard to look away from, and revealing.

Shake is another adorable little coffee table book about dogs. Unlike the acclaimed Underwater Dogs it illustrates the funny side of various dogs caught in the act of, you guessed it, shaking. Although perhaps not as original Underwater Dog (which was released first) it still captures the heart of its audience right from the very first picture. Some of the expressions on these dogs faces are hilarious and I couldn’t help but laugh out loud at them. Other’s made me nostalgic for my own Puppy.  I also quite like the double page spread on each dog as it allowed two unique snapshots of a time that would otherwise have been lost forever and gave it the edge of Underwater Dogs because of this.

Overall a fantastic little book to add to your coffee table collection that will keep the entire family not only entertained, but laughing 🙂

Do you have a favourite book that you go to when you need a pick up? If so I’d love to hear about them.

2 thoughts on “Books That Make Me Happy…

Leave a Reply

