‘op Ten Tuesday: Top Ten New-To-Me Authors I Read In 2013

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke And The Bookish where bloggers and readers create a list of books based on a weekly list theme.

This week’s theme is Top Ten New-To-Me Authors that I read in 2013, so without further ado here is my list πŸ™‚

*To go to the Author’s website click on their name, to check out their books on Goodreads click on their Books titles.

1. G. J. Walker Smith – I first came across G.J. Walker-Smiths books earlier this year when I became involved in a blog tour and right from the first page of her debut novel I feel in love! Since then I’ve read all three of her released novels and have since brought them on both my Kindle/Ipad AND in paperback form because I simply LOVED THEM THAT MUCH!

2. Fiona McIntosh – Like G.J. Walker Smith, I first came across Fiona McIntosh thanks to this blog as well when I was offered a copy to review. Unbeknownst to myself at the time the book I read – The French Promise – was a sequel to the Lavender Keeper that was released the year prior and a book I hadn’t read. Since finishing The French Promise I went out and brought just about the entire back list of Fiona’s work. I was also lucky enough to meet Fiona McIntosh when she toured earlier this year πŸ™‚

3. Bronwyn Parry – I initially brought Bronwyn’s book towards the end of last year and I literally started it on New Years Day this year and couldn’t put it down. Since having read Dead Heat then, I have since read all of Parry’s back list and her new release for 2013. Parry is an author I will definitely be keeping an eye out for in the future.

4. Charlotte NashRyder’s Ridge was released earlier this year and was Nash’s debut novel. Although I’ve read tonnes of books since then, I still think this one might be one of my favourites of the year, if not the favourite. There was just something about her writing that was so powerful and emotional and real. I just got it. Loved it. I’m excited to see what Nash puts out in the new year, because between you and I? I’ll be racing around on it’s release day trying to track down a copy πŸ™‚

5. Jessica Shirvington – I’ve heard a lot about Shivrington before and never read her books until now.Β  I first read Between the Lives mid-to-late this year and couldn’t get enough. Since then I’ve tracked down her paranormal series (Embrace series or Violet Eden Chapters) and started reading that as well. Another fantastic Aussie author added to my list.

6. Lee Christine – I first became aware of Lee Christine when I attended a Romance Readers Of Australia conference in March of this year and I happened to sit down alongside to her unknowingly. We started chatting and found out quite surprisingly that we were from the same town and Lee told me about her work. I went straight home and brought In Safe Hands. I’m eagerly awaiting her next book due for release 2014!

7. Dawn Barker – I actually won Dawn Barker’s debut novel Fractured from her via a Facebook competition earlier in the year. I highly recommend everyone gives Fractured ago because you won’t be disappointed!

8. Amy Andrews – Like Lee Christine and Bronwyn Parry, I met Amy Andrews at the Romance Readers of Australia convention this year and went home with a bunch of her books. If you like romance novels, I highly recommend you read Taming the Tycoon and Holding Out For A Hero.

9. Rachael Johns – It’s not hard to see why Rachael Johns was voted as number ten in Booktopia’s top Australian Authors for 2013. Keep en eye out for John’s novels, as this author has only really just begun and I’m sure were to see some great things from her in the years to come.

10. Rachael Treasure – Everyone talks about Jillaroo and although it had been on my TBR pile for what seems like forever, I’d never picked it up until I heard about her sequel The Farmer’s Wife. Since then I’ve read both of these two books and The Rouseabout and loved every second of it. Earlier this year I attended a Dymocks Literary Lunch with Rachael Treasure and was so inspired and impressed with passion for books and reading alike.

 

Without intentional planning it, all of my Top Ten Authors are Australian Female Authors πŸ™‚ Just goes to show just how strong some of our country’s female talent is! It was a pleasure to read every single one of these authors work (as well as many others this year) and I can’t wait to see what they put out next! Bring on 2014!

 

4 thoughts on “‘op Ten Tuesday: Top Ten New-To-Me Authors I Read In 2013

    • Jess says:

      You more than earned your spot on that list Lee. I’m very much looking forward to the release of “In Safe Arms” next year, all the best with it’s release πŸ™‚

      Merry Christmas and a very Happy New Year to you and your family as well πŸ™‚

    • Jess says:

      Words can not explain how much I enjoyed your book Dawn. I have a half written review almost ready to post, it should be posted before the new year πŸ™‚

      Thank you so much for the opportunity to enter the 12 book give-away that you and the other amazing authors hosted earlier in the year.

      Have a fantastic Christmas and a Happy New Year πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

