The Eclectic Reader Challenge 2014

eclecticchallenge2014_300

The aim of The Eclectic Reader 2014 Challenge is to push you outside your comfort zone by reading up to 12 books during the year from 12 different categories.  For more information, or to sign up for the challenge please visit Book’d Out.

 

The Eclectic Reader Challenge 2014

* Select, read and review a book from each genre listed below during the year for a total of 12 books. A book may be in print, electronic or audio format.

*  You can choose your books as you go or create a list in advance. You may combine this challenge with others if you wish.

*  Where a book is identified by more than one genre eg historical romance, it may only count for either the historical fiction or romantic fiction genres – not both.

*  You can read your chosen titles in any order, at any pace, just complete the challenge by December 31st 2014 to be eligible for the prize drawing.

Categories

  1. Award Winning
  2. True Crime (Non Fiction)
  3. Romantic Comedy
  4. Alternate History Fiction
  5. Graphic Novel
  6. Cosy Mystery Fiction
  7. Gothic Fiction
  8. War/Military Fiction
  9. Anthology
  10. Medical Thriller Fiction
  11. Travel (Non Fiction)
  12. Published in 2014

As far as this challenge goes, I’m not entirely sure what I’ll be reading for it, but excited none the same. I don’t think I’ve ever read a Cosy Mystery novel book, nor a Medical Thriller, so I’ll definitely be reading outside of my little box this year.

If anyone has any suggestions for any of the genres, I’d love to hear them. There’s only a couple of genre’s here that I know I definitely have something that will fit that genre. Everything else, will be a surprise I guess.

7 thoughts on “The Eclectic Reader Challenge 2014

  1. Ashley Pederson says:

    Sounds fun, however I am still trying to figure out if I can commit to something like this before I sign up. My recommendation for a great action packed thriller- medical thriller of sorts would be “Chasing A Miracle” by Eliot Hartford Bailey http://eliothbailey.com/. It is an intense story about a high-ranking government scientist who is a miracle skeptic whose pregnant wife becomes ill with a virus. Due to the subject matter, it appeals to a wide audience (gender wise and age wise)! Thought I would share!

Leave a Reply

