Do More Of What Makes You Happy…

You may remember a while back I had a post about how I’ve been feeling a bit blue and not coping with some personal things. Well, today I’m proud to say I’m happy again 🙂 I’ve decided to handle 2014 a bit differently and force it to be my year (which sounds means, because with the exception of a few months at the end of 2013, I had an exceptionally great year!). In doing this, I’ve decided that this year is going to be about me. About what makes me happy.

I don’t mean I’m going to block the world out and ignore everyone, but I’m making a deliberate effort in 2014 to work on myself, on the things I hold near and dear and the things I quite often neglect due to lack of time and energy. I recently read Rachael Treasure’s Don’t Fence Me In, and although I won’t say it’s the sole reason for my change in attitude, it definitely helped. I have a things for quotes and anything inspirational. In many ways it’s part of who I am (I have three notebooks full of various quotes I’ve found and seen around and simply had to record). Don’t Fence Me In, is an inspirational life guide (I can’t call it a story, but it’s a small book) full of little gems about getting more from life. In it Rachael Treasure talks about what we lose when we sacrifice our creativity and ourselves and how we need to make time for these aspects of ourselves. She enchants her readers with crazy snippets of her life and emphasises the need to not only embrace our own quirks, but to own them and damn what people say and think. While it’s true I loved the book for a number of reasons, I love its simplicity and its direct message: do what makes you happy and you’ll be better for it.

So far this year, I’ve taken that advice on board and I’m doing what I want. For the first time in months, lets face it almost a year (the two days I wrote in November as part of NANO don’t count as I got swamped by life and neglected it shortly after), I started to write again. And you know what? I loved it. Being able to watch the characters that live inside your head fill up a blank page is indescribable.  It also made me realise just how far I’ve come in the last few weeks (even prior to reading Don’t Fence Me In), because I can’t write when I’m not happy. I learnt that lesson the hard way when I struggle with writers block during my Honours year. But I survived that and came out victorious and I’m planning on doing the same here.

So as of last night I’m writing again and really looking forward to everything that this story and the process has in-store for me. I’m looking forward to getting to know these characters better and seeing what exactly they are getting up too.

5 thoughts on “Do More Of What Makes You Happy…

    • Jess says:

      Thanks Allyce.
      It really was a sweet little inspirational book. It’s mainly quotes from the author and some of her friends from the country. But it includes some well known ones and mini stories and mini-essays. It’s an eye opener.

Leave a Reply

