Aussie Writer’s Festivals 2014

If your are anything like me, you’d jump at the chance to go and hear authors talk about their work and craft. And what better place to do this than at Writer’s Festivals!

I recently stumbled across a list of writer’s festivals being held all around the country and thought I better share it with everyone, so that we can all (hopefully) experience one this year. The list below features mainly the bigger writer’s festivals and dates. Programs and author appearances are not usually released until a month or prior to the event.

Perth Writers Festival
February 20–23

Adelaide Writers Week
March 1–6

Newcastle Writers Festival
April 4–7

Sydney Writers Festival
May 19–25

Word Storm, Darwin
May 29–June 1

Bellingen Writers Festival
June 7–9

Mildura Writers Festival
July 17–20

Byron Bay Writers Festival
August 1–3

Melbourne Writers Festival
August 21–31

Brisbane Writers Festival
September 3–7

Will you be attending a writer’s festival this year? If so, which one? I’m planning to attend the Sydney and Newcastle one and hopefully the Byron Bay festival as I’ve heard fantastic things about this one and I really really want to go 🙂

 

7 thoughts on “Aussie Writer’s Festivals 2014

  1. rlsharpe says:

    I should be going to the Newcastle writers festival, I only managed to get to one session last year, so hopefully I can get to more this time around. And I’d like to get to the Sydney Writers Festival if I can.

    • Jess says:

      The Sydney one is huge and goes for an entire week. I love it, although I only usually end up being able to go on the last weekend.

      I went to so many sessions last year at Newcastle; it was great fun 🙂 There’s was a bunch of big names and the festival covered everything from genre, to literature to poetry. It was great.

    • Jess says:

      Oh wow! I’m jealous Tien! I never hear about volunteering until its too late. I’ll let you know what I hope to go and see when they announce the program later this year. Let me know what you’ll be at too and I’ll make sure to say hi!

    • Jess says:

      Fair enough. Family always comes first and sometimes we miss out, but hey there’s always the following year (aka this year). It should be a great festival if it was anything like last years.

Leave a Reply

