Happy First Birthday The Never Ending Bookshelf!

Today marks my first year anniversary of blogging here at The Never Ending Bookshelf and I wanted to share some of the experiences I’ve had over the past year with you today as I look back over the crazy year its been.

For as long as I can remember, I’ve loved books. But it wasn’t until I read Maureen McCarthy’s When You Wake And Find Me Gone that I really fell IN LOVE with books. That book threw me head over heals into a love affair with the written word, that now some thirteenth years or so later is still going strong. It’s the book that I credit with kick starting my reading once again after a pre-teen slump of no books. It’s the book that probably let me most to creating this blog a year ago, as its the first book that I really wanted to talk to about to people. The first one that I felt so truly passionate about and so in awe of. It’s the book that I put down to pick up again and re-read from cover to cover straight away. And once I finished it the second time around, I knew it was the kind of thing I wanted to do for the rest of my life. Read and write, just like Maureen McCarthy. And so I have. Sure nothing of mine might be polished enough or ready to be published yet, but I write when I can and I read whenever I have a spare second in the day. It’s the way I like things. The only difference now being, that I split my time between this blog and those two activities as well.

For those who’ve been following this blog for its duration, you’d know that things weren’t always smooth sailing here at The Never Ending Bookshelf. For the first few months of this blog’s life, I was hosted over at blog.com and while the relationship started out perfectly, things quickly turned sour when the host site was constantly over capacity or down for maintenance every other day. Then came the days when it would log me out of my own blog and only occasionally posting what I wanted to post. After four long weeks of nothing happening, and a couple of missed author guest posts going up on time (I still feel terribly for G.J. Walker-Smith) I’d had enough and sort out some new options. In the end I found myself at wordpress.com and I’ve been perfectly happy ever since. In fact, I’ve grown as a reader and blogger since then that I feel almost unrecognisable to the naive ‘blogger’ who set out to achieve big things back at blog.com.

Despite the few setbacks I’ve experience, this past year has been nothing short of amazing. The world of reviewing and blogging have opened up doors that I never even knew existed before and have given me a new leash on life. It’s made my mundane days so much exciting being able to talk books with all of you guys, and I’m thankful for all the time and energy that I’ve been able to spend here so far and look forward to the new challenges and experiences that another year at The Never Ending Bookshelf will provide. I’ve enjoyed conversing with readers and finding a ship load of new authors and books that I simply have to read. It’s been one hell of a great year, one that I hope will follow next year and beyond!

 

3 thoughts on “Happy First Birthday The Never Ending Bookshelf!

Leave a Reply

