Let’s Talk Books With Jess

 

Today I’m interviewing myself in what I hope to develop as a regular feature on this blog. Not interviewing myself of course, this is a one time deal I’m afraid, but rather I plan to use the “Let’s Talk Books” feature to regularly interview Authors, Fellow Bloggers and Readers alike. I’ve got a bunch of people all lined up and can’t wait to share their answers with you! Given that I’m asking them to answer these questions, I felt it only fair to do the same, and so here are my answers. I hope you enjoy reading them and getting to know me and my books a bit better ūüôā

What are you currently reading?

I’ve almost finished Deceive Me In Ireland by Whitney K.E and I just started Divergent by Veronica Roth and¬†More Than This by Jay McLean.

What’s the last book you brought?

 Firestorm by Tamara McKinley

Do you prefer to read books in print or electronically?

I love to read regardless of the format. For those who’ve been following for a while, you might remember a post I did almost a year ago about Paperbacks vs Ebooks where I was undecided on ebooks and had just purchased my Kindle. Well I’m happy to say I now am the proud owner of a Kindle and ipad because books I simply had to read where only available via such devices and online electronic stores. That said, while I love my e-readers and ebooks,¬† I will always have a soft spot and weakness for traditional paperbooks. I love everything about them.

If I was to walk into your house right now, what would would you bookshelves look like? Do you have an organisation system (genre, colour, author…) or are you just happy to go with the flow?

I have books everywhere. From one end of my room to the other and then all over the house as well. My bookcase is so overflowing that I’ve got two piles of books in front of it, another on the ground near my desk, a pile on my bedside table and another lot of my floor. I’ve also converted most of my wardrobe shelves to bookcases as well. I need more bookcases I think :p As to how they are arranged, well every so often I go on a book rearranging spree, where I literally pull out every single book in my collection and reorganise them. Currently they are organised by Genre (Authors have been kept together however) and since I went on a book buying spree not that long ago I’m in dire need of adding books into already bulging shelves. In the past I’ve organised by Authors Surname and size.

How often do you read?

Every chance I get. I don’t go a day without reading at least one page before I go to sleep. I think I have an addiction – I get withdrawals and cranky if I don’t read. Please tell me I’m not the only one!

What characteristics/traits would make up your dream book?

I love strong characters Рwhiny characters are a deal breaker for me.  Emotions get me too. I really connect to books on an emotional levels, probably more than what is healthy. I also have a weakness for Ireland and the accent. I love romantic suspense, so something with a bit of punch is great. Even more so because I like to be kept guessing.

How do you choose what to read next?

Usually it’s based on my mood once I finish a book. Often I have some titles waiting for reviews, so they take priority, other times I could really be hanging out to read a certain book, only to finish the book I’m currently reading and start something completely different because I no longer am in ‘the mood or right head space’ for the previous ‘waiting’ book. I need a better system I know.

So you’ve started a book and discover it’s not for you. Are you more likely to discard it or finish it?

I understand that a lot of people won’t finish books that they can’t stand, but I can’t do that. I simply MUST finish it as curiosity gets the better of me – I need to know what happened in the end! Although I might hate Bob, I need to know if he ended up happy. Or with Susie. My inner optimist is always confident that the book will get better. Sometimes it doesn’t, but at least I know for sure.

If you could read any book again, for the first time, what book would you choose?

My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult. That ending man …

What is about books that makes you want to read? What is your favourite part about reading?

I’m a really obsessive reader in just about every way. I love discovering new authors and characters really. I love the fact that I can pick up a book and be transported to a different time and place, possibly even worlds. That I can slip between the pages and feel as though its all unfolding right before my eyes. It always really astounds me when I read something that I instantly connect with – like a character who could basically be my best friend. I think I spend about half my day and night day dreaming of different lives, people and situations – books allow me to live out different scenarios and make my life better for having done so. It also validates me daydreaming, as clearly I’m not the only one doing it!

4 thoughts on “Let’s Talk Books With Jess

  1. allvce says:

    I love this! What a great idea! I’m looking forward to reading more of them!

    And I am exactly the same, even if the book is terrible, I have to finish it or it will stay in my head.

  2. Lee Christine says:

    How interesting Jess – it is a good concept. My husband will read a book until the end, even if he hates it. He has the mentality, ‘I must finish everything I start’, whereas I’m happy to leave it. Looking forward to reading more of this!

Leave a Reply

