Top Ten Tuesday: Books That Make Me Cry

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke And The Bookish where bloggers and readers create a list of books based on a weekly list theme.

This week’s theme is the top ten books that make us cry. This list should be easy for me, as I’m an emotional reader. I cry in so much! So anywhere, here’s my ten books that make me cry..

1. My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult. This is the first novel that I read by this author, and man that ending was something else entirely. Just when you think your being set up for a certain thing to happen and suddenly everything is flipped. The feelings!

2.  The Fault In Our Stars by John Green. I loved this book so much and I think it’s safe to say that I cried through about 80% of it. It’s gritty and in your face and the feelings and emotions just keep on coming. This is not a book that makes your pretty cry – I was red faced, gasping, hysterical crying over this novel. Hence it’s high ranking!

3. Seven Little Australians by Ethel Turner. I know this is an odd books to include in the list, but I honestly think this is probably the first book I read independently that made me cry. I love this series with a passion and often re-read.

4. Before I Die by Jenny Downham. I know what your thinking, the title says it all – you know what your are in for reading this book. But man, I wasn’t expecting Jenny Downham to get quite so detailed in the dying process. The last third of this book I struggled to read because I bawled so much but I wouldn’t put the book down.

5.  Between The Lives by Jessica Shirvington. This book is simply amazing. It’s heavy and light-hearted and full of love and life. It made me laugh. It made me cry. And it’s not a book I’m likely to forget any time soon.

6.  The Book Thief by Markus Zusak. I read 480 pages in one day. Most of it on public train. I was trying so hard not to cry in public, but I lost the battle in the end. An astounding read and well worth the pain that comes with reading it.

7. If I stay by Galye Forman. This is novel is like nothing I’ve ever read before. Instantly you are made  to feel for the characters which hurts all that much more when the drama of the book starts. It pulls at your heartstrings and hurts in the way only a good book can. The fact that the book is inspired by true events (as stated in the book, although the family in real life had a completely different outcome to that of the narrative) made it so much more real and punchy. It definitely made me stop and think for a long time after reading it.

8. A Walk To Remember by Nicholas Sparks. I read this book after seeing the movie, and while they have update the ‘era’ in the movie, it’s exactly the same story. I balled my eyes out and still do when I re-read. And watch the movie for that matter. Such a powerful and heartbreakingly beautiful novel about young love and how short life is.

9.  Harry Potter And The Deathly Hallows. I still remember the day this book was released. I went in a car pool with a group of friends to purchase the book as soon as the embargo was lifted. On the way home we took it in turns reading the book aloud so the driver wasn’t missing out. I finished the book early the next morning and am still devastated by the loss of some of the characters. Not to mention still angry that Remus and Tonks death is summed up in one line.

10. Lone Wolf by Jodi Picoult. I know my second Jodi Picoult novel on the list. This books is included for slightly different reasons then most of the books in this list. Like most of Picoult’s book this book is powerful and explores morally grey issues making the reader think about what they’d do if they were in the same situation. What got me in this particular story however was one small line when the main character reveals why she is so headstrong about her decision and let’s the reader in on her guilt. It’s heavy and heartbreaking and I couldn’t imagine living with it.

I’m adding an 11th novel in here because I couldn’t not include this one, but couldn’t take any of the other novels out at the same time

11.  The French Promise by Fiona McIntosh. These characters still haunt me. I felt their loss and heartbreak all too well. Beautiful narrative.

 

And there you have it, eleven novels that have made me cry.

 

 

Leave a Reply

