Guest Post & Extract: Whitney K.E On Why She Set Her Books In Ireland

Today, I am super excited to host a Guest Post by Aussie Author Whitney K.E. Whitney is the author of What Happens In Ireland and Deceive Me In Ireland. As a lover of all things Irish, and a huge supporter of this very talented young author, I can not express just how excited I am to share the following post with you guys! I hope you enjoy this little trip to Ireland as much as I have 🙂

They say the cheapest way to travel the world is to do so through reading. I found it in writing.

The truth is, both What Happens in Ireland and Deceive Me in Ireland were written before I set foot on Irish soil. I had a two year wait till I could make my way to the Emerald Isle and that meant I did a lot of daydreaming. And one day, whilst sitting on a bus, the O’Reilly brothers walked in to my head and my series began.

I’m not a very conventional writer. I’ve always been taught to write what I know. But obviously, I’m not very good at doing what I’m told!

Now that’s I’ve been to Ireland though, I find my enjoyment in taking my readers to Ireland. I want them to encounter a handsome Irishman in a bar in Dublin and take a horseback ride through the ring of Kerry. I want them to smell the snowdrops that grown in a field on the O’Reilly property and tap their feet to the traditional music being played in the Killarney Grand. And lastly, I want them to fall in love. In love with Ireland. With the rainy days and those filled with sunshine, with the people and the sites. Ireland is a magical country. Let my characters take you there!

1474577_1437026719845243_879314552_n

And today, you are going to start your journey with an extract from Deceive Me in Ireland. 🙂

Readers, you’re on a flight to Ireland. And a handsome Irishman has his eyes on you!

His green eyes lit up and Cara fidgeted in her seat. “I don’t think I’ve introduced myself.” He offered his hand to her. “Patrick. Patrick O’Leary.”

Accepting it, Cara hoped her cheeks didn’t look as red as they felt. Unfortunately, her reaction to his touch was far more than she’d predicted. When she seized his hand, pleasure swamped her. His palm was rough, calloused. But she wasn’t repulsed by it. She was tantalised. The slight friction it created against her skin was electrifying.

And yer first name?”

Releasing the man’s hand, Cara tried to school her reactions.

Kate warned you this might happen…

Cara. Cara Barrow.” But you can call me ‘lass’.

Kate had warned her of the Irish charm. And Cara had ignored her. Her cousin had also said her ‘inner wanton’ would want to put her two-cents-worth in. Cara had laughed then, but now that her ‘inner wanton’ really was fighting for control, she was starting to wish she hadn’t scoffed.

It’s a pleasure to meet—”

An announcement from the stewardess cut Patrick short. Cara turned in her seat and her grip on the armrest tightened.

Attention passengers. This aircraft will be taking off in just a few minutes. We ask that all passengers take their seats and the cabin crew prepare for takeoff.”

Motivated by the anxiety the announcement raised within her, Cara dropped her handbag at her feet. Reaching to her right, she began to wrestle with her seatbelt. It was caught and when her actions neared desperation, she gritted her teeth.

Stupid. Bloody. Seatbelt!

Finally, she managed to yank it across her waist. Clicking it over her hips, she shifted her attention—hopefully without detection—to the man beside her. For the first time since meeting Patrick, she took in more than just his handsome features and masculine form. Had he remained silent, she would have supposed him to be a True Blue Aussie. One who had apparently, forgotten his akubra. He wore a pair of R.M. Williams boots and his lean hips and muscled thighs were hugged by a pair of Wrangler jeans. His collared shirt emphasised the broadness of his shoulders and although she appreciated the sight, she couldn’t help but wonder how much better he’d look without the fabric covering his skin. His arms were muscled and lightly tanned. He looked like a country boy from collar-to-boot and as out of place in business class as Cara felt herself. Dressed in a pair of Havianas, faded jeans and a black singlet, Cara was feeling a little intimidated by the Suits-and-Briefcases that surrounded her. To know that she wasn’t the only outcast eased her anxiety, though her fellow Average Joe seemed to make her more self-conscious than the business people alone.

Did you get upgraded too?” she asked, tightening her belt.

The Irishman chuckled, the sensual sound rolling over her like a heatwave in the heart of winter. Her hands grew clumsy.

I didn’t actually.” He fixed his green gaze on her. “Do I not look like I can afford business class?”

Cara froze. “I’m so sorry. I—”

No, no. Don’t apologise.” He chuckled. “I was only teasin’.”

Persuasive though his smile was, Cara found it hard to believe.

It’s easy to be mistaken. I was myself just then. I was watchin’ ye manhandle that there seatbelt and I thought, ‘Blimey, this lass is tryin’ to kill herself’.” He chuckled and pointed a finger at the strap she still clutched. “But now I realise yer actually tryin’ to put it on. A bit tight don’t ye think?”

Looking down at the belt that constricted her waist, Cara became aware of the pressure that hugged her body.

How am I still breathing?

I’m sorry. I’m just a little—”

Nervous.”

Cara grinned. “What gave me away?”

I’m not sure, but I think it might have been yer wide green eyes and fiddlin’.” Shifting in his seat, Patrick leaned against the window behind him, his eyes locked with hers. “Will it help if I distract ye?”

Cara shifted and bit the inside of her cheek. “Distract me?”

I’m very good at it.”

Cara’s gaze shifted to his lips. She didn’t doubt it.

With lips like those, he’d be able to distract the Blarney Stone.

And how do you plan to do so?” she asked, pulling her handbag back onto her lap.

With those lips I hope…

By interrogatin’ ye.”

Interrogating me?”

Well, he was using his lips. Just not in the way she wanted him to.

Patrick’s eyes took on a devious gleam. “Yes. Interrogatin’.”

Well, I hope you’ve got more than twenty questions because this flight’s a lot longer than five minutes.” Cara laughed nervously and began searching her bag for the packet of gum she’d bought earlier.

Oh, don’t worry. I’ve got a few. An intriguin’ woman always leaves a man with many questions.”

Deceive Me in Ireland

By Whitney K-E

“Never call a Kerry man a fool until you’re sure he’s not a rogue.”


Her cousin, Kate had warned her about the Irish charm. And Cara had been foolish enough to ignore her. In Ireland to be Maid of Honor in Kate’s wedding, Cara hasn’t a clue that the handsome Irishman who is seated next to her is the infamous brother of her cousin’s fiancé. And William O’Reilly doesn’t plan on telling her. Not yet, anyway.

Silver-tongued and devilishly handsome, William had Cara wondering if he is the same man she met on the plane. Should she give him a chance or heed her cousin’s warning and keep him at a distance? 

The same unique and quirky characters from What Happens in Ireland come together again to celebrate the wedding of Kate and Jack in the fresh and humorous sequel, Deceive Me in Ireland. 

Like Kate Barrow, her cousin Cara discovers that resisting the charms of an Irishman isn’t as easy as it seems. William O’Reilly is as silver-tongued as his brother, Jack and determined to make the woman realize his worth. And her own.

Add Deceive Me in Ireland to your Goodreads list!

Deceive Me in Ireland will be available in ebook on Amazon, Barnes and Noble and All Romance Ebooks!

Website: http://www.whitneyk-eauthor.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/whitney.keauthor

Whitney is also offering a $25 Amazon Gift Card to one lucky reader, so make sure you check out the Rafflecopter form to enter 🙂

Whitney has her first in person author event this coming Friday (14.2.2014) at Newcastle Library as part of Library Lovers Day. So if you happen to be free, or around the Greater Hunter/Lake Macquarie/Newcastle area head on down to Newcastle Regional Library for your chance to meet Whitney and hear her read from one of her books from 10.30am on Valentines Day 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

