Let’s Talk Books With Monique From Write Note Reviews

Today I’m excited to be able to post this ‘Let’s Talk Books’ feature with one of my favourite book bloggers, Monique from Write Note Reviews.

What are you currently reading?

Identical by Scott Turow.

What’s the last book you brought?

The Agincourt Bride by Joanna Hickson

Do you prefer to read books in print or electronically?

Print. However, I do have a Kindle and find it convenient when travelling, waiting for kids after work and so on.

If I was to walk into your house right now, what would would you bookshelves look like? Do you have an organisation system (genre, colour, author…) or are you just happy to go with the flow?

My bookshelves are sagging and full. My man only has a couple of shelves … the rest are all mine! In the living room, my books are roughly ordered by genre and author. Roughly. These are the books I’ve read. Near my desk I have another big bookshelf which looks like this: self-help books (up top and rarely read!), YA books I’m saving for Miss Attitude, my to-review shelf, my giveaway/shout-out shelf, and then a bottom shelf full of textbooks for the kids.

How often do you read?

Every day. I read most nights before I sleep.

What characteristics/traits would make up your dream book?

Mystery, suspense, secrets, a great character.

How do you choose what to read next?

I have my review books in a rough reading order, but it generally depends on mood. If I’ve read a few heavy books, I might skip to something lighter. Once in a while I’ll read a book “just because” – one I’ve borrowed or been given that I don’t plan to review.

So you’ve started a book and discover it’s not for you. Are you more likely to discard it or finish it?

I try a few times in case it’s my mood that’s affecting how I’m experiencing the book. If I really can’t get into it, I’ll set it aside; I don’t force myself to finish reading something because otherwise it turns reviewing into a chore. There are too many books to get bogged down in one that doesn’t speak to you somehow.

If you could read any book again, for the first time, what book would you choose?

Anne of Green Gables. The first time I read it, I fell in ‘love’ with Anne. Her enthusiasm was a joy to be part of; I’d love to feel that childlike joy for the first time again.

What is about books that make you want to read? What is your favourite part about reading?

Is ‘just because’ an OK answer to the first question? I love the journey books take me on, the characters I ‘meet’, the reflection afterwards, beautiful writing … all I know is I have to read. My grandmother, who also loved reading, once told me she thought I read a bit too much! I was about 14 at the time and probably preferred the company of books back then. Reading is my quiet time these days and I love it when I get the chance to curl up with a book and bowl of popcorn during the day (it happens rarely).

 

To learn more about Monique or to follow her amazing book blog head on over to Write Note Reviews (trust me you won’t be disappointed).

4 thoughts on “Let’s Talk Books With Monique From Write Note Reviews

  1. writenote1 says:

    Thanks so much for the interview. I was away when it was posted so I couldn’t share it around much, but I will now 🙂
    It was fun, Lily, and a great idea from Jess.

    • Jess says:

      Your welcome. Thank you so much for not only agreeing to be part of it, but for allowing me to bounce the idea of you when it was still just a future concept.

Leave a Reply

