Let’s Talk Books With Natalie Gayle, Author of Finding Trust & FInding Judgement

 Natalie Gayle writes romantic suspense with a hint of paranormal and has two books out so far, Finding Trust, and Finding Judgement, with a third set to be released late this year. I’m super excited to host this short but sweet interview with Natalie today, as she’s an author I’ve had a lot to do with over the past six months and one whose writing I’ve quite enjoyed reading 🙂 So without further ado, here’s this month’s edition of ‘Let’s Talk Books’ with Natalie Gayle.

What are you currently reading?

Currently reading Kaleidoscope by Kristen Ashley. I’ve got the new Jaci Burton Play by Play – Melting the Ice, ready to go as soon as I finish it. Plus I have about another 100 or in my electronic TBR pile.

What’s the last book you brought?

Kaleidoscope by Kristen Ashley (I’m shocking I buy 2 or 3 books per day on Amazon)

Do you prefer to read books in print or electronically?

Electronically – I love that I can hide how bad my book habit really is. Don’t get me wrong I love print books but I’m a geek. So I always have to have my iPad with me. And there is something so reassuring about having my library with me all the time. I can disappear into my favourite world whenever I want.

If I was to walk into your house right now, what would would you bookshelves look like? Do you have an organisation system (genre, colour, author…) or are you just happy to go with the flow?

Um – you wouldn’t actually see any books! I just moved house and all my books are packed away in boxes. I’m just in the process of getting new furniture for the house. All of our old stuff just didn’t go. So when I have new bookcases then I’ll bring them out. Until then I have my trusty iPad with them all on.

As for how they’re organized. Fun story – I came home one day a few years ago and my husband surprised me by covering a whole wall in our bedroom with three, floor to ceiling book cases. He’d even gone through all my books and put them on the shelves in alphabetical order. That’s a man that understands his wife!

How often do you read?

All the time. I average a book a day, as I read very fast. Reading is my me time. The only time I back off a bit is when I’m really focused on writing and then I’ll probably only read for between one or two hours per day. But if I’m waiting for the kids or an appointment or whenever – it’s a safe bet I’ll be reading from my iPhone or iPad.

What characteristics/traits would make up your dream book?

I love books that have strong characters, a solid story line that’s unique. I like lots of romance with a purpose. (Sex for the sake of sex gets boring). I also like to learn new things from reading books. And I must have a HEA. I also hate cliffhangers. Pet peeve of mine. I’d rather have one 900 page book than three part books.

Oh my other thing is good editing. I can forgive a few mistakes – we all make them. It’s next to impossible to catch every single one. But I’ve read a few lately that looked like they hadn’t even been touched.

How do you choose what to read next?

I flick through my kindle app and see what I feel like. I often have to refer back to Amazon to remind me of what the book was about. Yeah I have a problem with too many books I know.

So you’ve started a book and discover it’s not for you. Are you more likely to discard it or finish it?

Previously I would always finish it. However, lately I’ve just left a few. I’ll skim a bit to see if it starts to get better if not I just stop. I tell myself I can always come back if I get desperate……… I’ve always read to escape and enjoy – so now I’ve decided to follow through on that a little more. If I don’t enjoy it, I don’t keep going.

If you could read any book again, for the first time, what book would you choose?

This is so hard. I’ve got so many books I LOVE and I re-read regularly. It would be unfair to name just one. I love them all for different reasons. I’ve never been one to have one best friend either so I couldn’t do it to my book friends.

What is about books that makes you want to read? What is your favourite part about reading?

I like hopping out of the here and now and jumping into a different place with different people. I like to get to know these people and share a bit of their lives but not actually have to “know” them. That probably doesn’t make a lot of sense but it does to me.

Essentially I like to be entertained. I’m not looking for a literacy masterpiece. I’m looking for a few hours of escapism and entertainment. If the author can give me that. Job done – I’m happy.

 

   NatalieGayle_FindingJudgement_800px  

For more information on Natalie Gayle head on over to her website or goodreads.

Natalie is also an author attending this month’s Indie Author’s Down Under book signing event, so if you happen to be Brisbane on Saturday 22nd March make sure you drop in (tickets cost $10 and are not available on the day) and say hi to her.

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Let’s Talk Books With Natalie Gayle, Author of Finding Trust & FInding Judgement

  1. Pingback: Homepage

Leave a Reply

