Let’s Talk Books With Lauren Dawes, Author of The Helheim Wolf Pack Series

Today I’m pleased to introduce Lauren Dawes, author of the much loved Helheim Wolf Pack Series (Half Blood, Half Truths, Half Life and Half Cast) and the Dark Series (Dark Deceit). So without further ado, here’s Lauren Dawes talking about books and her reading habits in ‘Let’s Talk Books’.

What are you currently reading?

I’ve just finished Sawyer Bennett’s latest edition in her serial romance “Legal Affairs”, but I’ll be moving onto Larissa Ione’s “Rogue Rider

What’s the last book you brought?

I bought three! Larissa Ione’s “Rogue Rider” and “Reaver” and Pamela Druckerman’s “French Children Don’t Throw Food”.

Do you prefer to read books in print or electronically?

I’ll always prefer the feel of a paperback in my hands, but more often than not you’ll find me reading my Kindle.

If I was to walk into your house right now, what would your bookshelves look like? Do you have an organisation system (genre, colour, author…) or are you just happy to go with the flow?

You’d find about three of them. One will be full to the brim with books by J.R.Ward and Laurel K Hamilton, Jennifer Rardin and Mary Janice Davidson. I organise by books by author and series, but my most loved authors/series will be eye-height. My other two bookshelves share their homes with photos of my family until I can fill their shelves with more books.

How often do you read?

Every day – even if it’s just for ten minutes or so. I somehow don’t feel complete if I haven’t opened up a book that day.

What characteristics/traits would make up your dream book?

Strong male characters – I guess you’d call them your typical “alpha”, but not like a Christian Grey character. I’ve read too many books now where the protagonist is a cookie-cutter version of CG, and honestly I’m tired of reading about this perfectly f*cked up man with a stack of money and unrealistic skills. I prefer men that are men, who are raw and sexual and primal all at once.

I’d want a heroine who is strong, yet not a ball buster. She would have to know what her weaknesses were and acknowledge them rather than fight them and the world to prove her worth.

I like my plots to be more than just about lust and sex. A lot of books just jump right into the sex scenes, but without character development, the scenes are simply unbelievable. I like a bit of a plot twist thrown in there from time to time and I guess a book that surprises me is the best kind of trait.

How do you choose what to read next?

If one of my favourite authors has a new book out, that’s what I’ll be snapping up next. If not, I often read an indie book. They’re a bit hit and miss most of the time, so you have to keep in mind that they haven’t been professionally proofread and edited. I usually go off the title, and if I downloaded it ages ago (as it happens quite often on my Kindle), I have to go and look it up on Goodreads or Amazon. I’ll also have a look at the reviews quickly to see whether it’ll be worthwhile to read too.

So you’ve started a book and discover it’s not for you. Are you more likely to discard it or finish it?

I’d put it down. I figure there are more books out there that would be worth my time.

If you could read any book again, for the first time, what book would you choose?

J.R.Ward’s entire “Black Dagger Brotherhood” series. I’d love to fall in love with all of those characters again.

What is about books that makes you want to read? What is your favourite part about reading?

Reading is an escape for me. I like to forget about the little things in life that are bothering me and just submerge myself completely in another world where vampires, demons and werewolves are real beings, or where the seemingly ‘impossible’ is possible. I love getting to know the characters of well-written contemporary romance or new adult romance novels. Those kinds of stories take me back to when I was eighteen again and falling in love, or having my heart crushed by my first love. It’s like you’re flirting with these gorgeous characters yourself because you can picture yourself being that female protagonist. I like trying to figure out who the killer is, or why someone is acting the way they are.

I guess I just love getting lost in my own imagination and books are the vehicles to get me there.


Lauren Dawes will be appearing at the Indie Authors Down Under Event in the Gold Coast later this month, so if your going, make sure you stop by and say hi 🙂

For more information on Lauren Dawes visit her website, Goodreads, or Amazon page.

 

One thought on “Let’s Talk Books With Lauren Dawes, Author of The Helheim Wolf Pack Series

Leave a Reply

