Let’s Talk Books With Nicole R. Taylor, Author Of The Devil’s Tattoo

Nicole is one of the many fantastic Aussie Authors attending this months Indie Authors Down Under Event in QLD this month. Nicole

write[s] about vampires with complexes, rock stars looking for epic love, insane witches, super heroes, post-apocalyptic warriors, soul baring music lovers and samurai sword wielding women… all from a desk in a country town in Southern Australia.

I’m actually reading Nicole’s The Devil’s Tattoo at the moment and loving it. And now, please give a warm welcome to SA author Nicole. R. Taylor as she talks books with everyone here at The Never Ending Bookshelf.

What are you currently reading?

I’m reading the Driven trilogy by K. Bromberg.

What’s the last book you brought?

Fate by Nikki Sex.

Do you prefer to read books in print or electronically?

Digital all the way! I brought a Kindle a few years ago and I’ve never read so many books. Though, if I love a book to bits I’ll go and get the print copy to put on my shelf. I also collect second hand books. Mostly oldies like the romance epic, Gone With the Wind and sci-fi classics like Frank Herbert’s Dune. There’s nothing like the feel of a well-loved book in your hands.

If I were to walk into your house right now, what would your bookshelves look like? Do you have an organisation system (genre, colour, author…) or are you just happy to go with the flow?

I have one of those huge square bookshelves. I have a square with the books I’ve written, a square of my favourite novels (mostly fantasy), a square for all the history books I pick up on my travels, a square for those second hand classics… I have all kinds of things on there.

How often do you read?

I try to read every day, but sometimes I get wrapped up with writing ; )

What characteristics/traits would make up your dream book?

I love books with a strong female lead. I’m really into erotic romance at the moment, but I prefer the lead to push the man as hard as he pushes her! Definitely like plot twists that hit you out of left field.

How do you choose what to read next?

I have a load of books that I want to read, but I usually just skim the titles and covers and whatever sticks out at the time… unless a new part of a series I’m dying to read has come out.

So you’ve started a book and discover it’s not for you. Are you more likely to discard it or finish it?

If it’s not doing anything for me, I put it aside. Going into writing and being a reader, you learn that not every book is for everyone and that’s cool.

If you could read any book again, for the first time, what book would you choose?

This is such a hard question. I’d probably have to say some of the books that I was into as a teenager. They still feel magical to me in a way, and it’d be a nice feeling to capture that again. I loved Anne McCaffrey (the Crystal Singers trilogy was the first one of hers I read), Isobel Carmody (her Obernewtyn series in particular), Garth Nix (Sabriel and Lirael are favourites) Tamora Pierce (Alanna and Wild Magic), and Ian Irvine’s take on epic fantasy.

What is about books that makes you want to read? What is your favourite part about reading?

This one’s a no brainer. Escaping reality!

To learn more about Nicole R. Taylor or to purchase a copy of her books, check out her: Website, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads or Amazon account.

TDTCoverTeaser1 WHSCovers_sm

Leave a Reply

