Let’s Talk Books With Michelle Congdon, Author of Slide.

Today I’m chatting to Michelle Congdon about her books and reading habits. Michelle is an Aussie Author who writes New Adult Contemporary romance. Like all the authors in the past three weeks, Michelle is an attending author of tomorrow’s Indie Authors Down Under event on the Gold Coast. You can read more about Michelle’s books below.

What are you currently reading?

I don’t have a book at the moment, however, I finished reading Lili St Germain’s Six Brothers last week and am freakin’ excited for the next one to come out! I had promised myself to try and read as many books as possible from the authors attending the Indie Authors Down Under Event this week but it was ridiculously hard, let me tell you! There are so many fabulous writers to go through and so little spare time in between writing my own work and juggling my actual day job. Sigh*

What’s the last book you brought?

Lili St Germain’s Six Brothers. ( Finished in a few hours 😉 ) But I have many books on my “waiting to read” list.

Do you prefer to read books in print or electronically?

This is tricky… I love electronic because it’s so easy and I can read anywhere but nothing beats the smell and the feel of a hard copy book.

If I was to walk into your house right now, what would your bookshelves look like? Do you have an organisation system (genre, colour, author…) or are you just happy to go with the flow?

Haha, my bookshelf is a complete mess at the moment. My books are organised by genres, with series placed in chronicle order BUT my house mate and I also collect DVD’s and Video games, so they take up the bottom last two shelves, and they are jam packed in there. Sitting on top of my books are also a few fashion magazines, my old university text books and Nerf guns (yup, you heard right).

How often do you read?

I try to read as much as I can, but again, it’s often hard to do when you’re trying to get a book out on time.

What characteristics/traits would make up your dream book?

I love strong heroines and cheeky, alpha males, so anything like that 🙂

How do you choose what to read next?

Umm… Well, I have a few authors that I keep track of and when their new books come out, I go straight on to reading them. I do also use GoodReads and read what bloggers are suggesting. I love finding new authors all the time.

So you’ve started a book and discover it’s not for you. Are you more likely to discard it or finish it?

I’ve done both before. There is a rather popular book that I stopped reading once I reached a certain part. It wasn’t because I found it bad, it was because I knew I wouldn’t be able to handle it and I don’t have anyone to help pick up the broken pieces of my heart because it was squeezed so tightly that it shattered into a million pieces. (Yeah okay over dramatic.) But truth is, my emotions can only handle so much. Ps I do LOVE this author and her work haha.

If you could read any book again, for the first time, what book would you choose?

Sylvia Day- The Stranger I Married. I loved that book soooo much!

What is it about books that makes you want to read? What is your favourite part about reading?

Reading books for me is an escape from reality. It’s the chance to live different lives and feel emotions you may not get the chance to in real life.

Thank you for having me, Jess! ❤

To find out more about Michelle and her books make sure you check out the following sites:

Facebook | Website | Twitter | Goodreads

 

 

Slide Cover-lowres

After surviving a horrific car accident twelve years ago, that claimed the lives of her mother and brother, heiress to the multi-billion dollar Montgomery Empire, Evangeline, promised never to go back to the city filled with memories of her tragic past. However, after an unexpected event, Evangeline reluctantly finds herself back in New York City.

Since the accident, Evangeline has feared the media attention that comes with having the Montgomery name, and would give everything up to bring back her loved ones. Delicate and camera shy, the last person she needs in her life is New York Yankees hotshot, Ryan Fox.

Witty and extremely arrogant, the notorious bad boy is well-versed at playing the game both on and off the field. Ryan isn’t fazed by the media circus following his every move and couldn’t be anymore different to the quiet, shy girl that is Evangeline. Everything about him screams trouble with a capital T, but it’s away from the cameras that Evangeline begins to see the real man hiding behind the cocky façade— one that is haunted by a dark and terrible secret.

Life led them to one another, but will further events and opening up about their past bring them closer, or tear them apart and have them sliding into darkness all over again?

Leave a Reply

