Let’s Talk Books with Allyce from What I Like & Why You Should Too

Today I have the pleasure of sharing the mini interview I had with a good friend and fellow blogger Allyce from What I like & Why you Should Too. I’ve been a follower of this blog since it’s creation because of the amazing reviews and snippets posted on a range of different subjects and content. To be honest, you never really know what your going to get when she posts, but you are guaranteed to  get an honest, informative opinion and review about the product. To date Allyce has reviewed a range of popular and engaging products ranging from computer games, to websites, to music and books. She has an eye for detail and a great taste in books 🙂

What are you currently reading?

Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief. I’ve stayed away from this series because of the movie but I recently read the blurb on goodreads and was intrigued. Plus anything with the Greek Gods is a plus.

 What’s the last book you brought?

I pre-ordered Jim Henson’s Labyrinth, its a graphic novel that focuses on the story of Jareth before the movie. Super looking forward to it!

Do you prefer to read books in print or electronically?

I started reading ebooks on my tiny ipod classic screen, so if I need to read I will read it however I can. Truthfully though, I have no preference. Although I have found that if I absolutely love an ebook, I will usually break down and buy a physical copy of the book.

If I was to walk into your house right now, what would would you bookshelves look like? Do you have an organisation system (genre, colour, author…) or are you just happy to go with the flow?

I am a bit pedantic. I have my books sorted by author, series and then height. It is the bane of my existence when a book series changes its style half way through. Also I have books piling up on the floors and any flat surface as I need another bookcase.

How often do you read?

… Not very often. I feel very guilty but it isn’t very often that I will sit down and read a book. I do read an awful lot of graphic novels, manga and comics but because I read them so fast I don’t really count them.

What characteristics/traits would make up your dream book?

Strong characters plus a liberal helping of humour, add a dash of romance, an engaging storyline and tadar! My type of story!

How do you choose what to read next?

I often want to read something but struggle to find a book that will hit the spot. I will often spend more time looking for a book than I will reading said book.

So you’ve started a book and discover it’s not for you. Are you more likely to discard it or finish it?

Oh, I have to finish it. If I put the book down I just obsess and obsess about what could have happened. I once tried reading a Danielle Steel book, hated it and gave up. However, over the next few months I couldn’t stop thinking about it, so I had to pick the book back up and finish it. In which case I almost immediately forgot the whole plot.

If you could read any book again, for the first time, what book would you choose?

That’s a really tough question. However, I would have to say Howl’s Moving Castle. I just remember being so engaged and racing to the finish yet at the same time not wanting it to end. Additionally, the cover art of all of Dianna Wynne Jones’ books were just so stunning!

… Discussing that book may have just led to me purchasing her book, The Tough Guide to Fantasyland.

What is (it) about books that makes you want to read? What is your favourite part about reading?

My favourite part about reading is being drawn into worlds. The emotions and journeys that you’re taken on are just so amazing. The very process and concept of being drawn into stories is simply stunning.

So I hope you enjoyed my mini-interview with Allyce from What I Like & Why I should Too and remember to drop in and have a look at her blog. I swear there is something there for everyone!

4 thoughts on “Let’s Talk Books with Allyce from What I Like & Why You Should Too

Leave a Reply

