Let’s Talk Books With Amy From Lost In A Good Book

Today I’m pretty excited to be hosting this feature with a good friend and fellow blogger of mine, Amy from Lost In A Good Book. Even more so, since Amy was one of the first people I talked about this feature with, so to be able to feature her through it feels a little bit special 🙂

What are you currently reading?

Nocturnes by John Connolly. I am also reading Sherlock Holmes but that’s more intermittently when I am out and about or when I haven’t got another book with me.

What’s the last book you brought?

Let it Snow by John Green, Maureen Johnson and Lauren Myracle

Do you prefer to read books in print or electronically?

Print, I will read electronically if that’s the only option, or if it is easier at the time, but I am definitely a print person. I find I don’t know what to do with my spare hand or holding it feels too strange. Perhaps I just need more practice I don’t know.

If I was to walk into your house right now, what would your bookshelves look like? Do you have an organisation system (genre, colour, author…) or are you just happy to go with the flow?

For once my bookshelves would look tidy which is great start. From there my books are arranged less in a straight forward system, and more in terms of whether I’ll read the book soon and what my opinion of it is. I have a shelf beside my bed for those books I want to read soon and current favourites, the shelves above my desk for more favourite reads and more books I want to read sooner than later, while the books under my desk are ones that look good but I have no real plan of getting to anytime soon.

There are also three shelves in my cupboard I’ve converted that are filled with books. I do have a category system of sorts for the cupboard though, i.e the novels I studied at Uni are together, Shakespeare plays are together, as are any series. But where they go and on which shelf is in terms of whether I liked them and how often I plan to access them. And then each shelf is arranged by size. Easy! I assure you, it sounds a lot more complicated than it is. I know with more space I would happily have a big bookcase with a better system but alas space does not permit such luxury at the moment.

How often do you read?

I go through phases, sometimes I can read book after book continuously, and sometimes I go weeks without really reading. I try to always be reading something but unfortunately it sometimes gets pushed aside when other things are happening so it is often a very slow read, but it is never by choice.

What characteristics/traits would make up your dream book?

Something that moves me I think, or that has an impression. It can be adventurous, thriller, or a simple fiction story but if I can take something from it and that leaves a mark then that is a good book. I think engaging characters are also a huge advantage, you can be pulled along by great characters and your investment in them can bring added enjoyment to a book.

How do you choose what to read next?

I have a terribly long list of books I want to read so that helps. Depending on my mood I can find one on the list I particularly want to read, or search my bookshelves, but I am also a serial library browser where I will just wander the shelves and pick a book based on its title, blurb, or even its nice cover art (I know, I know! But I won’t not pick it because of the cover so that’s ok).

So you’ve started a book and discover it’s not for you. Are you more likely to discard it or finish it?

Normally I would finish it, just to get the book over and out of my life, but I have discarded a few in my time. For those books I will either never plan on finishing it, or it will only be read when I am absolutely desperate.

If you could read any book again, for the first time, what book would you choose?

Oh that’s hard, probably The Book of Lost Things, because I can reread a lot of the fantastic books again and get the same excitement and joy as the first time, but I think that one would be amazing to experience again for the first time.

What is about books that makes you want to read? What is your favourite part about reading?

Escaping into a story is a strong motivator, a form of running from life without having to go anywhere. That is a godsend to be able to do that. The other part is getting to see and experience different sides of the world and people in a way you may not be able to in real life.

As to the favourite part, I must say I love to marvel at what other people’s imaginations and minds can create. Some of the stories, the phrases and ideas that I have read absolutely astound me and have influenced me in ways I know would never have happened in reality.

2 thoughts on “Let’s Talk Books With Amy From Lost In A Good Book

Leave a Reply

