Let’s Talk Books With Jennifer Ryder, Author of Spark and Spike.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Today I’m thrilled to have Aussie Author Jennifer Ryder over on the blog to chat about her books, reading habits and bookshelves.

 

Jennifer is the best selling author of Spark (Book One) and Spike (Book Two in the Spark Series). She is currently work on book three in this series, Strike, and has a novel titled Blackmail By Any Other Name due for release in November this year. So without further ado, I introduce you to one of Australia’s up and coming romance greats Jennifer Ryder 🙂

 

What are you currently reading?

Storm by Nina Levine

 

What’s the last book you brought?

Krinos by TL Smith

Do you prefer to read books in print or electronically?

Nowadays I read more ebooks, because I can get away with reading in bed whilst hubby is trying to sleep. It also makes it that much easier to be able to read on my iPad or phone, saves carrying books around. I still love the feel of a paperback though, and if I love something in ebook, I have to get it in print as well.

If I was to walk into your house right now, what would you bookshelves look like? Do you have an organisation system (genre, colour, author…) or are you just happy to go with the flow?

I am waiting for my hubby to build me another bookshelf, as my collection has grown so much over the last year. I try to put authors works together, otherwise, there is no system.

How often do you read?

Depending on where I’m at with my writing, I usually read 2 books a month. When I’m under pressure to get down words I may not read for a month, but it’s generally no longer than that in between books.

Describe what you would expect to find in your dream book?

Good pace, relatable characters, and unique ones that take you by surprise. I love a plot that keeps you guessing, and isn’t just the same story just told a different way.

How do you choose what to read next?

I love to support my fellow Indie authors, so I try to read those first. I still have my favourite big sellers that I can’t resist any book they put out. Sometimes it’s a case of eenie miney moe to pick what’s next!

So you’ve started a book and discover it’s not for you. Are you more likely to discard it or finish it?

I will give any book a chance, and I’m a persistent person, so I will push on as far as I can. If I just can’t keep going with it, then yeah, I’ll put it aside.

If you could read any book again, for the first time, what book would you choose?

I’d read RAW by Belle Aurora. This book left me with such a severe hangover, and ripped my heart out. I will read it again, but I’d love to go through the experience again.

What is about books that appeals to you so much? What is your favourite part about reading?

Escapism I guess is the big thing, but it’s the emotions that reading invokes that keeps me coming back for more. I love to fall in love with characters. Really, what bookworm isn’t constantly on the lookout for their next book boyfriend?

Was there any particular book that inspired you to start writing?

It was more life experiences that inspired me to write, but I’ll admit Fifty Shades actually got me reading erotic romance and erotica. I didn’t intend to write erotic romance, but because Spark is a story of sexual discovery, and I’m not one to fade sexy scenes to black, my writing is very much on the steamy side!

Do you have any advice to other writers out there?

Learn the craft of writing. Writing my first book, Spark, was such an intense learning experience. I took a lot of on-line courses on writing a particular tense, about writing male characters and attended workshops on plot development and pacing. I didn’t spend a lot of money doing it, but I know my writing improved as a result. I would also highly recommend having numerous people take a look at your work (i.e. a critique partner or beta readers), to give you honest and constructive feedback. It hurts like a bitch at first, but at the end of the day, you want your work to be the best quality for readers.

And lastly, what are you currently working on?

I am putting the final touches on Strike, Book three in the Spark series, so I can send it out to beta readers. This is set for release in August/September this year.

To learn more about Jennifer and her books check out the following social media sites and book retailers:

Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads | Amazon Au | Amazon UK | Amazon US |

Out Now:

                                                     

 

Due for release in November:

Leave a Reply

