Let’s Talk Books With Susan Kelly, A fellow Reader & Aspiring Author

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

When I started the Let’s Talk Books feature, I knew I didn’t just want to interview Authors about their reading habits and bookshelves. I wanted to go deeper than that and include a wider variety of people and percentage of the population. After all it’s not just the authors who read is it! So I set out to interview Authors, and Bloggers naturally because they are the most easiest people to gain access to and the most willing to share their reading experiences with us. But I wanted to include the every day reader as well. We after all are the people who kept demanding more books, who push for more variety and more books in series. So why not hear from the very people who support our great book industry and keep our favourite authors in work all year long.

Today I have the pleasure of introducing our first ever reader to the spotlight and fun that is Let’s Talk Books. Today’s guest on the blog is Susan Kelly, an Australian reader who aspires to be Author in the near future and is working hard to fulfil her dreams.

What are you currently reading?

Krinos by T.L Smith a new release 

What’s the last book you brought?

Unraveled by K Bromberg.

 

Do you prefer to read books in print or electronically?

Depends on where I am at home I prefer a real book but for convenience my kindle goes everywhere with me.

 

 

If I was to walk into your house right now, what would would you bookshelves look like? Do you have an organisation system (genre, colour, author…) or are you just happy to go with the flow?

My bookshelves are a disaster at the moment, my library room is organised but I have books in every room of my house

How often do you read? Describe what you would expect to find in your dream book?

Daily it may only be 10 pages but its a part of my every day routine. A great plot, characters who appeal to my senses and a well written story.

Describe what you would expect to find in your dream book?

A great plot, characters who appeal to my senses and a well written story.

 

How do you choose what to read next?

It depends on my mood and also if its something I need to read. I have beta read for several authors and have a rep as a Grammar Nazi so my reading choice isn’t always my own.

So you’ve started a book and discover it’s not for you. Are you more likely to discard it or finish it?

I have only ever not finished one book, I am a tad anal when it comes to my reading.

If you could read any book again, for the first time, what book would you choose?

That’s a hard question, I think it would have to be Slave To Sensation by Nalini Singh. This book started my love affair with paranormal romances.

What is about books that appeals to you so much? What is your favourite part about reading?

Books are not only an escape but have been instrumental in the formation of life long friendships and experiences that are now some of my greatest memories. Books have given me joy, knowledge and helped to relieve stress and boredom, they can be your best friend and reading is something you can do anywhere, anytime.

What book are you most looking forward to reading next?

Honestly I follow so many authors from such a diverse range of genres I am almost linked to Amazon permanently but I will admit the Australian authors I had the pleasure of meeting at an Indie Event in March (Indie Authors Down Under) have captured my imagination.

Leave a Reply

