Let’s Talk Books With Jane Carter, Author Of High Country Secrets

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Today I got to chat books with Aussie author Jane Carter. Jane is the author of the rural romance novels A dream of Something More (2009) and  High Country Secrets which was released earlier this year with Momentum (April 2014).

What are you currently reading?

Iris Johansen’s The Beloved Scoundrel, on my tablet and Ruth Reikl’s Delicious – in print. I am fascinated how words can awaken ones taste buds.

 

What’s the last book you brought?

Cathryn Hein’s Heartland set in SE Victoria. Two wounded people who find each other. I loved it.

Do you prefer to read books in print or electronically?

I love to read – anytime, anyplace but I’m finding suddenly with my tablet I can now read in bed at night with no lights on, or in the car at night. I can slip my tablet, holding many books, into my bag and take it on a plane. And of course, with a tablet I don’t need to find my glasses! My reading opportunities are multiplying and I find this very satisfying.

If I was to walk into your house right now, what would your bookshelves look like? Do you have an organisation system (genre, colour, author…) or are you just happy to go with the flow?

I look around and books are everywhere, I never can find anything there are bookshelves upstairs and downstairs and on the landing. I try to have a system but a tidy up creates total chaos and everything gets put just anywhere it will fit and any system goes out the window.

How often do you read?

Whenever it is possible and probably sometimes when I shouldn’t.

Describe what you would expect to find in your dream book?

If I’m writing it I would have no idea. I am continually surprised what I find when I write but in a book I’m reading I like to be surprised and find out things, the whys and wherefores?

How do you choose what to read next?

I get propositioned all the time by any romance book that passes by my nose and I’m a total sucker. Friends’ recommendations, articles and advertising all work for me.

So you’ve started a book and discover it’s not for you. Are you more likely to discard it or finish it?

Discard it – but I have to say it doesn’t happen very often.

If you could read any book again, for the first time, what book would you choose?

These Old Shades’. Aghhh, if only.

What is about books that appeals to you so much? What is your favourite part about reading?

A book can take you anywhere. Now, perhaps, I read with an eye as to how it’s written and what methods the author uses – this doesn’t detract from my enjoyment. But always it is getting lost in the magic of the book.

Was there any particular book that inspired you to start writing?

Mills and Boon – I read thousands of them and anyone can write a Mills and Boon! Right? I had a lot to learn. And then I read my first rural romance. Wow, I knew these people and where they came from and I wanted to write about them. Thank you, Fiona Palmer.

Do you have any advice to other writers out there?

Hold on to your hat – it’s going to be a wild ride. And I have to say I have learnt that character driven works better than plot driven for me.

And lastly, what are you currently working on?

I am so excited. Marley is off to Kazakhstan to show some young, inexperienced Kazakhstan cowboys how to look after feedlot cattle. It sounds pretty weird to her but who is she to turn down an expenses paid trip to Kazakhstan? The horses and cattle won’t be any different over there. Of course, she never would have gone if she’d known who was going to be her boss …… So I’m taking Australian rural romance over the seas to Kazakhstan and back again.

                                                                  

To learn more about Jane Carter, visit the following social media sites:

Website | Momentum’s Website | Facebook Goodreads |

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

