Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Blogging Confessions

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke And The Bookish where bloggers and readers create a list of books based on a weekly list theme.

Today’s topic was: Top Ten Blogging Confessions

 

1. I’ve loved book and reading for as long as I can remember, but it’s only in recent years that I’ve opened up and started talking about them. In fact if you were to talk to me two years ago, I’m not sure what we would have talked about. That’s how much books and reading dominate my life. That’s not to say I didn’t read then, because I did, but I didn’t really talk about what I was reading or what books I’d loved unless the book/author was involved in some major book hype at the time. This change in perspective was huge for me in many ways, and it means I’ve met so many more people who are just like me! Besides it could never be considered a bad thing from where I’m standing, as I work in a book department of a big department chain, I now have this blog and my ultimate dream is to write a novel and get it published and work in the publishing industry. My life needed this change, clearly.

2.  Not that long ago I was not a fan or ebooks or e-readers. But then I started up this blog and was converted. I read at least one a week now. After all, the words (and thus the story) are the same no matter the format that you read them in.

3. Following on from the last point, I only got a Kindle because of this blog. Seriously I only brought it because I’d been advised by a good friend and prolific reader Brenda (who will be featured on this blog on Friday in “Let’s Talk Books”) to sign up to Netgalley for ARC copies. I was hesitant at first thinking I’d get knocked back. So when I got accepted for the first book I was in shock… and had nothing to read it on! I went out to the shops the very next day and brought my first Kindle Keyboard 🙂  I brought my first ipad as a reading device because one of my all time favourite Australian Authors GJ Walker-Smith had released a novella only on itunes at the time. I simply had to have that book! To this day it’s basically only used as an e-reader.

4. I have no control when it comes to buying books. To the point that if I see a book store I simply have to go and look around. The problem with that is that I usually come out with one or two books… which is bad because…

5. My room is bursting at the seems with the amount of books I own! Seriously! I haven’t got enough space for them all, so I have piles on my desk, piles on the floor, piles in the cupboard, in boxes. And although I do a cull every now and then, I don’t usually get rid of enough at a time to make a difference. The worst part is, I haven’t read everything I own either!

6. I collect bookmarks. I adore them.

7. Sometimes blogging is exhausting. The need to read faster and write quicker is always in the back of my mind. I usually can read at least two books a week and I know that’s not a lot to other bloggers standards, but sometimes I can’t even manage to read that much between work, and dancing and this. I wouldn’t change it for the world though. Besides the excitement that comes when someone comments on a posts or casually mentions that they’ve read something I’ve written totally outweighs any of my other feelings.

8. Lately it feels like the blog dictates what I read and when. I’ve signed up to a lot of blog tours and constantly read and review by request. I love doing so and have learnt about so many new authors and their books by doing so. But lately I’ve wanted to read certain books because I REALLY want to read them, not because I signed up to review them or have been asked to review them. But just ’cause and on my own time…  I’m working on this at the moment.

9. I need to do more interviews and guest posts. As a reader, I know these are the types of things that I love to read. It’s part of the reason why I created “Let’s Talk Books” after all and with its success I’d say there are plenty of other people out there who think the same. But it’s daunting to send a message to an author or publisher asking for the chance to interview or feature an author or book on the blog. In fact, sometimes it’s down right scary! Which is stupid I know, but it’s not in my nature to put myself that far forward. I’m still a baby blogger though and I’m learning to be pro-active and ask publishers for books and authors if they are interested in being featured. The worst thing they can do is say no right.

10. I like to schedule posts in advance, in fact I prefer the organisation and preparedness of it all. I used to be good as this, but lately that hasn’t been the case. My life has been hectic the last few months and it’s been fun but hard to keep on top of things. So often the posts are being written the night before, if not the day I post them. On occasion, I’ve even committed a mortal sin of back posting! In fact I have a lot of wrap and conversational/discussion posts that are only half finished that should have gone up weeks ago – like ones about The Random Penguin House Book Bloggers Forum, PTA Live, Newcastle and Sydney Writers Festivals etc – I promise these posts will go up soon. They will. I just need to learn to calm down, breath and get on with it sometimes.

 

So that’s me and my blog in a nutshell. In many ways I feel like I’ve pealed back a layer by posting these and exposed part of myself in doing so, but I enjoyed it. Not the revealing stuff, but talking about blogging and books. It was fun. We should do it more often ;P Actually I’ve been looking forward to doing this Top Ten Tuesday list since I saw it in the upcoming topics.

If you made it this far, I’ve love to hear your thoughts on blogging? Or reading? What are some of the confessions you would make?

 

 

 

 

This week’s topic: Top Ten Characters Who X…
This week’s topic: Top Ten Characters Who X…
Leave a Reply

