Let’s Talk Books With Brenda Telford, A Prolific Reader

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Today it’s my pleasure to introduce you all to a good friend of mine and prolific reader Brenda! For those of you who are active on Goodreads and in the Aussie Readers group, you’d recognise Brenda as one of the groups Admins.

 

My name is Brenda and I have been a moderator of the group Aussie Readers on Goodreads for over 3 years now. I’m a prolific reader and will read (almost) anything:) Now that I’ve retired I find I’m able to read a lot more (the housework suffers!) but I’m having a ball!

What are you currently reading?

The Facts of Life and Death by Belinda Bauer.

What’s the last book you brought?

Everything to Lose by Andrew Gross.

Do you prefer to read books in print or electronically?

Probably half and half. I enjoy the feel of real books, the smell and so on, but the convenience of ebooks for waiting rooms, travel etc makes the handbag and luggage much lighter.

If I was to walk into your house right now, what would your bookshelves look like? Do you have an organisation system (genre, colour, author…) or are you just happy to go with the flow?

My bookshelves are organised firstly by read and unread, then Australian authors and International Authors, then Male and Female. Then I have them in together in authors and also sizes. My read books are in another room on other bookshelves.

How often do you read?

Daily, every minute that I can!

How do you choose what to read next?

That’s very much a mood generated decision – I have a lot of challenges going so I go through what I need to read for them and choose one from there. Occasionally I will just pick up one from my TBR which is an owned paper book, one that I just feel like reading at that moment. (That’s why I’m reading “The Facts of Life and Death” at the moment)

So you’ve started a book and discover it’s not for you. Are you more likely to discard it or finish it?

Discard – I have too many books to read and not enough time to read them all! I’ll need to live to at least 150 to be able to read all I want to 😉

If you could read any book again, for the first time, what book would you choose?

To Kill a Mockingbird.

What is it about books that appeals to you so much? What is your favourite part about reading?

Relaxing into another world – the writers who have the remarkable talent of weaving magic into their words invite you into the lives of their characters.

What book are you most looking forward to reading next?

The follow up to Frontier Incursion by Aussie author Leonie Rogers – Frontier Resistance.

 

35 thoughts on “Let’s Talk Books With Brenda Telford, A Prolific Reader

  1. brendat59 says:

    Thanks for having me on your blog Jess 🙂 I just thought I’d let you know I’ve read 33 books since the original interview when I was reading The Facts of Life and Death 🙂

    • Jess says:

      Good for you Brenda. You are one hell of a reading machine! Do you have a favourite that you’ve read so far since this interview?

      • brendat59 says:

        Mmmm! Lord Somerton’s Heir by Alison Stuart. Lethal Sky by Greg Barron. Cicada by Moira McKinnon, Cop Town by Karin Slaughter 🙂 I really loved those, and there would be more I’m sure, if I wanted to lengthen your post 😉

  2. Michael Swensson says:

    Please feel free to Join us at Aussie Readers. Great interview Brenda. I feel like i know you even more now. 🙂

  3. Daystarz Books says:

    Nice interview! Goodreads would not be the same for me without you and the Aussie Readers folks Brenda. I’m in awe of how much you read and review. Signing up to your blog Jess 🙂

    • brendat59 says:

      Thanks Shelleyrae! Retirement is certainly wonderful if you’re a reader, and I can combine my love of reading with a love of travel – they go together well! 🙂

    • Jess says:

      See I can acknowledge that, but I still HAVE to finish on the off chance that the book might redeem itself…. I’m envious of all you people who don’t enjoy it and can just stop.

      • brendat59 says:

        You’ll get there one day Jess – that day you realize there are still 100s (and more) to be read! Why not enjoy them all! 🙂

    • brendat59 says:

      I think it might be age related too Melissa 😉 (Though not in your case!) I used to read right through, under sufferance, but no longer…..

Leave a Reply

