Let’s Talks Book With Book Blogger Suzie From Suzs-Space

What are you currently reading?

I’ve just finished The Min-Min by Mavis Thorpe Clark, it’s a lovely little Australian book about a young brother and sister in central Australia. The brother wreaks in the schoolroom so they run away from home.
I picked up Shane Gould’s autobiography last night, called Tumble Turns it looks promising.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Today I was fortunate enough to get Suzie, a fellow blogger who I met at the Random House Book Blogger’s Forum earlier this year. Suzie is passionate about all things books, especially Australian Authors and Blogs; she blogs over at Suzs Space.

What are you currently reading?

I’ve just finished The Min-Min by Mavis Thorpe Clark, it’s a lovely little Australian book about a young brother and sister in central Australia. The brother wreaks in the schoolroom so they run away from home.
I picked up Shane Gould’s autobiography last night, called Tumble Turns it looks promising.

What’s the last book you bought?

I picked up a couple of Jennings books by Anthony Buckeridge from the op shop today. At 50c each I couldn’t resist. I used to read them as a child and they magically transport me back there, easier than finding a working TARDIS.

Do you prefer to read books in print or electronically?

I definitely prefer books in print but I see the value in ebooks and feel that some years in the future most of our books will be electronic with pre-loved books being a rare commodity.

If I was to walk into your house right now, what would your bookshelves look like? Do you have an organisation system (genre, colour, author…) or are you just happy to go with the flow?

That’s a sore point with me. I’d love them all sorted neatly as they are in a library, probably alphabetically but we just don’t have the room. We have far too many books for our shelves and nowhere else to put shelves, many books are double stacked and to do all of that we had to add extra shelving to the bookshelves! We do have authors together but not when we have both hardcovers and paperbacks of a particular author…I couldn’t possibly name Terry Pratchett in that category.

How often do you read?

Every day. It’s an addiction. Sometimes I need a break between books so I’ll pick up a magazine or a newspaper but reading is as necessary as eating or breathing.

Describe what you would expect to find in your dream book?

Oh dear, that’s problematic. I read so many different genres and enjoy so much of what I read that’s a really hard question. I’m a demon for finding typos and they can really ruin a story so I’d have to say zero typos. But, but, that’s not finding…stop asking such hard questions.

How do you choose what to read next?

Mostly I go by instinct and how I feel at that time, if I have a pile of books (or ebooks) which have to be read by a particular date they’re likely to be chosen first but not always. I do like to have a break between genres if I’ve read too many of one genre so I’ll often pop a business book or autobiography in between a handful of science fiction. Sometimes I’ll pick something that’s been sitting in my To Be Read Pile for a long time.

So you’ve started a book and discover it’s not for you. Are you more likely to discard it or finish it?

That depends on the book. If I feel I can’t write about it on my blog I’m likely to give up. I do try for constructive criticism rather than just say I hated the book. Having said that I haven’t always been that good and there is the odd article I’m considering withdrawing.

Having said that there are very few books I’ve started that I’ve found are ‘not for me’, they might not be well written or have too many typos or even romance. Actually, they’re the main criteria for putting a book down. I did try reading 50 Shades of Grey but the writing was so bad I gave up before getting to the juicy bits. I have given books away when there are too many typos…maybe I’m too judgemental.

If you could read any book again, for the first time, what book would you choose?

Not sure I have one book, certainly one author. Terry Pratchett is pretty good and I often look at someone reading his works for the first time and wish I could repeat the process. He has a magical way of looking at the world that is so different and it would be lovely to see that for the first time again.

What is about books that appeals to you so much? What is your favourite part about reading?

Reading has always been an escape for me, but as I’ve matured (just remember I’m still 18) I’ve enjoyed different things about reading. I now enjoy the use of words, a turn of phrase, learning something new, discovering new authors…there’s so much I enjoy about reading. In The Min-Min among many things I enjoyed the Australian colloquialisms used.

Can you tell us a bit about your blog and how long have you been blogging for?

I’ve been blogging for five years. It started as a good way of adding some cheap SEO into my website, I used to sell pre-loved books online and wanted some way of drawing more customers into the website so I started a blog about, you guessed it, books! What a strange concept, writing about books when you sell them. Somewhere along the way the writing became more important than the selling so I got rid of the books and kept the blog.

What has been your favourite book you’ve reviewed on your blog?

You have such hard questions. I have many favourites, after five years I’ve reviewed a lot of books. One of my favourites is one I reviewed recently, it took me forever to read as it is an anthology with the absolute best stories in it and each one needed time out after reading. The book is The Best Science Fiction and Fantasy of the Year Vol 8 edited by Jonathan Strahan and I was lucky enough to be able to interview the editor. Saying ‘IT’S AWESOME’ doesn’t do it justice.

Do you have any advice to other bloggers out there?

Experience is a good teacher, get as much as you can which means read/write as much as absolutely possible.

Don’t write in a bubble. There are so many bloggers out there you’re bound to find like minded people. You can even find blogging communities. (At this point I’d love to plug Book Bloggers Australia on www.bookbloggersaustralia.com.au if you’ll let me.)

Learn new stuff! The more you know the better your writing will be.

Catch up with me on social media and teach me new words. I love new words and sometimes I over use them.

To learn more about Suzie you can find her via the following social media sites where she’d love to chat to you:

Blog | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads

Leave a Reply

