Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I’m Not Sure I Want To Read

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke And The Bookish where bloggers and readers create a list of books based on a weekly list theme.

Today’s topic was: Top Ten Books I’m Not Sure I Want To Read

1. 50 Shades of Gray trilogy by E.L. James: I know people went mental for this book, but my day job is a bookseller in a department store and for months and months on end thats all anyone would talk about. I heard everything I could ever possibly want to know about this book and its subsequent series from customers who felts the need to tell about the book in relation to their own sex life. Which was slightly off putting. On top to this, I don’t like reading hype books during said hype as I feel it has the power to persuade your thoughts on the book (it could be talking the book up so your in for a let down when you read it etc…). So while it’s true that I own these books, I doubt I’ll ever read them.

2. Dead Ever After by Charlaine Harris: When you start repeating story-lines in a series I’m out. I’ve read all but the last book in the series (and then the what happened next book) and I can’t bring myself to learn how it all ends. I just don’t care any more. Harsh I know.

3. The Silkworm by Robert Galbraith/J.K.Rowling: I’m one of the rare people who actually enjoyed The Casual Vacancy as based on its own merit. This series I have absolutely no interest in however.

4. The Da Vinci Code by Dan Brown: I borrowed this book from Uncle years and years ago. I started it, made a hundred or so pages in and never read any further.

5. John Green’s Books: Okay so I read and LOVED The Fault In Our Stars. Then I read Paper Towns and was like ‘it’s okay’. I enjoyed it, but no where near the level of TFIOS which I lived and breathed. My Best Friends adores Looking For Alaska and says it’s Green’s best book, but I just can’t bring myself to read them yet. One Day.

6. Allegiant by Veronica Roth: Technically I’ve only read Divergent (which I loved) and although I want to know what happens, everyone is very negative about book three. I’ve heard some of what happens and I understand the frustration…. so it can just sit on the shelf for a bit longer.

7. The King by J.R.Ward: I went against my hype rule for this book and brought it as soon as it was released, despite only making it through three or four books in the series as it was. It looked intriguing and I picked it up once, only to put it back down and move on to something else.

8. Nicholas Sparks books: I’ve read a fair few of his big books ( A Walk To Remember/Notebook/Dear John/The Wedding… just to name a few) and I’ve found him to be very formulaic. Although I loved the Notebook and A Walk To Remember, I feel he peaked awhile ago and I only brought his last book based on Monique from WriteNoteReviews review. I haven’t read it yet though.

This week’s topic: Top Ten Characters Who X…
This week’s topic: Top Ten Characters Who X…
Leave a Reply

