In Safe Keeping Book Trailer Reveal And Interview With Lee Christine

Earlier this week I was asked by Lee Christine if I’d be interested in hosting the big reveal of her new book trailer for In Safe Keeping. As a huge fan of this series and Lee’s writing, I couldn’t agree to be part of it quick enough. Below Lee answers some questions about the trailer and its production process.

 

Hey Lee, thanks so much for stopping by The Never Ending Bookshelf and for asking me to be involved in your big Book Trailer Reveal. It looks fantastic by the way and I can’t wait to read the book even more now!

Thank you for having me on your blog and revealing my trailer!!

Can you tell us a bit about your book trailer and how it came about?

I really enjoyed doing a trailer for my previous title ‘In Safe Arms’ and decided to do one for this release as well. Doing a trailer is fun. It’s very visual and it adds interest to a website and Facebook page. Also, my son is a composer, so I knew I had the music in the bag and for free! Even better.

What a talented family you have there. What was it like working with your son on the trailer?

It was amazing. The whole thing was a long distance, collaborative effort. A friend of a good friend, The very talented Rhiannon Folpp, did the video images for me. Rhiannon’s in Sydney and I’m in Newcastle so I sent her the first three chapters and my Pinterest board so she had an idea of what the story was about. She then sent me lots of video cuts and I chose the ones I liked. Then she put the video together and I wrote the text for it.

After that was done, the video went to Adam in Los Angeles. He composed the music for it. He’s been working on TV series and film trailers so I knew I could put my trust in him.

What is the process of making a book trailer like? Do you hire a production company or do you use free source images and clips?

No I didn’t use a production company. Rhiannon is actually a graphic designer who has just started her own business, so she did it all from home. There are free images available from a variety of sources on the internet. I think Rhiannon sourced most of mine from Shutterstock.

Was it hard to break the complete story down to those few bare bones to get the message across? And was it difficult to transition your story from the written form to the visual?

It was difficult. Most writers have nightmares over writing a three page synopsis of their book, so to break it down to a series of ten phrases is difficult, a bit like writing a log line or doing an elevator pitch. I’m a believer in less is best. Too much text interferes with the visual, and then the music should compliment everything and set the mood. I think Adam really captured the feeling of suspense, especially the bomb drop. I loved that sound effect.

Can you recall how you felt seeing the finished product back the first time? What was it like being able to see your vision come to life?

Well, I always get teary when I see any of Adam’s work, so to see my book come to life through Rhiannon’s video work and Adam’s composition-it gave me good chills. I am incredibly proud, and I think, making this trailer captures where we are in our lives right now. This will be wonderful to look back on. It’s been a very personal project for me.

I recently read something that hinted that book trailers were becoming vital to the sale of ebooks, what are your views on this? Do you believe them an necessity now a days?
That’s a tough one. I hadn’t heard that. I’ve always considered them an option for the author. Personally, I enjoy the visual impact that a trailer provides to readers at the time of release of my books.
And lastly, do you have any advice for other authors considering making a book trailer?
Well I’m no expert, but my advice would be to keep it short, because people’s attention spans are shorter these days. And instrumental music rather than a song. I think when you’re reading text, as you do in a book trailer, the song lyrics distract your attention.
And thank you so much Jess for featuring my trailer today.
Thank you for chatting with me Lee and for allowing me to to share your brand new Book Trailer with everyone! Best of luck with the books release on December 8!
It was only supposed to be a casual affair, a stress-relieving night time romp, a secret just between the two of them. But when divorce lawyer Laila Richards ends up on the opposite side of the bench to high powered lawyer, Evan Barclay, in a very public, very high profile divorce, she knows their fling will jeopardize the case of her career, and breaks off their relationship.

Stunned by Laila’s decision, Evan vows to make the beautiful lawyer deal with him, both in and out of the courtroom. But when suspicious activity begins to emerge, and Laila’s safety is threatened, Evan fears his client — his best friend, the son of the only family Evan has ever known, may be involved.

Bound by client confidentiality and battling a massive conflict of interest, Laila and Evan fight to win, fight for justice, and fight for a chance at a relationship that’s anything but casual.

Avaliable from Escape Publishing/ Amazon/ iBooks /
5 thoughts on “In Safe Keeping Book Trailer Reveal And Interview With Lee Christine

  1. Cathryn Hein says:

    Lee, your trailer is one of the best I’ve seen. Well done! And the music is perfect. Thanks for sharing info on how you made it. Really interesting.

    Jess, I haven’t heard that comment about book trailers but I do agree authors could exploit YouTube a bit more with short interviews and the like. Just have to get over the facing the camera thing. *shudder*

    • Jess says:

      Hey Cathryn, thanks for stopping by 🙂

      I hadn’t really thought about it but I saw three articles talking about how important it was in one day and wondered what everyone thought about it.

Leave a Reply

