GUEST POST: Michelle Irwin, Author of ‘Happily Evan After’

Today I am fortunate to have Aussie Author Michelle Irwin on the blog as she talks about the books that had an impact on herself. Michelle’s debut novel released this month and is a cute and quirky romantic novel about Cupid falling in love (more details below), and thus the perfect beach read this summer. So without further ado, here is Michelle….
Every now and then there is a post that gets around Facebook prompting people to note their top books. It’s supposed to draw out the most influential books in the respondents life. I have a few books that jump straight to the top of those lists all the time. Not necessarily because they were the best books I’ve ever read or because they had some strong message that taught me a lesson. Some of them were just because they came into my life at just the right moment.
One of those books is Looking for Alibrandi. I can distinctly remember reading this book. I loved it. I breathed it. In my high school career this was the book that I raved about, and that I pushed onto friends like a dealer. If you were to ask me to quote a line or even really summarize the plot in any way, I wouldn’t be able to. I vaguely remember a father absent from birth (or very soon after) returning, or something. A friend’s suicide, or maybe it was an OD. Regardless, my point is that I don’t recall the specifics of the plot, but what I do remember is the impact it had on my life. It came at just the right time to “save me.” I’m not sure what it saved me from or for, but the rush of emotions of reading it for the first time are still so fresh to me even now a number of years on (I won’t admit just how many LOL).
I think when most authors pour their heart and soul into a book, they want to connect to a reader on this sort of level. This is definitely true for me. I don’t want a reader to come away feeling preached at. I do believe there is a bit of an unintentional message about prejudice in some of my books but it’s not the underlying reason for writing them. I don’t even necessarily want my readers to be able to quote line after line of memorable text (although, I won’t lie it would be kind of awesome to randomly stumble across one of my quotes on the internet one day). I consider my job done if the story hits an emotional resonance with the reader. If in some way, they could relate to one of the main characters in the series. I have achieved my goal if, for at least a moment of time, I am able to give someone their own Looking for Alibrandi moment.
 HAPPILY EVAN AFTER
Cover by Soxational Cover Art
Synopsis:
Evan is a reluctant cupid. Facing an unknown term of servitude to repay his debt to the world, it is his responsibility to guide couples together. Despite initial hesitancy, he has learned to handle every case with care and he now basks in the afterglow of new-found love and relishes in the energy it provides him. But his end goal is still the promise of paradise in return for his penance.
 
It’s all going according to plan until he receives an assignment that is inconceivable to him. He has to find a mate for Becca, within whom lives the reincarnated soul of his one true love. Bound by his duty to find her a match, he must resist her charm and suppress his own desires. It is his job and he cannot fail, even if his own paradise now seems lost.
 
For a cupid, falling in love is against the rules.
 
Isn’t it?
Purchase Links:
Teasers:
 
Author Bio:
Michelle Irwin has been many things in her life: a hobbit taking a precious item to a fiery mountain; a young child stepping through the back of a wardrobe into another land; the last human stranded not-quite-alone in space three million years in the future; a young girl willing to fight for the love of a vampire; and a time-travelling madman in a box. She achieved all of these feats and many more through her voracious reading habit. Eventually, so much reading had to have an effect and the cast of characters inside her mind took over and spilled out onto the page. 
Michelle lives in sunny Queensland in the land down under with her surprisingly patient husband and ever-intriguing daughter, carving out precious moments of writing and reading time around her accounts-based day job. A lover of love and overcoming the odds, she primarily writes paranormal and fantasy romance.
Giveaway:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

Leave a Reply

