Author Events That Make Me Squeal!

It’s taken me a while, but I’ve finally calmed down. About 15 mins ago I opened my email account and was casually reading through them as you do only to discover that one of my favourite Aussie Authors is coming to one of my local libraries! I’m so damn excited! Perhaps too excited if my shaking hands are anything to go by.

Towards the end of last year, Newcastle started pulling some of the big named authors in for local events thanks to Macleans booksellers (the local independent bookstore) who were lucky enough to get Julia Gillard for two events, Graeme Simison for a host of events, Peter Fitzsimons, Kurt Fearnley, Brooke Davis, Fiona Higgins, Maggie Joel … and the list goes on and on. ( I should mention here that the success of two Newcastle Writers Festivals would have helped too). And while that was fantastic enough at the time, it seems like the trend might just be continuing on into 2015 and I simply can’t wait! Especailly since two of my favourite Australian Romance authors are touring locally this month and next month.

In fact, Bronwyn Parry is touring Lake Macquarie next week as she hits the road for her Storm Clouds tour that she herself has put on with help from her publisher. So if you happen to be in the area make sure you come and say hi to Bronwyn at Edgeworth Library on Tuesday 21st January at 5pm where she will be holding court with the lovely library ladies and the locals (myself included) for an author talk.

Bronwyn will also be attending a morning tea at Morisset Library on Wednesday 22nd January at 10 am if you happen to be free.

 

I’v personally read all five of the above novels and can not recommend these books enough. If you like a well written novel with buckets of suspense and action and a dash of romance than these are the perfect books for you. Storms Clouds was officially released TODAY ( so Happy Release Day Bronwyn!) and is a fantastic example of just how amazing this author is.

NOTE: Although set in the same National Park as Dead Heat and featuring the same cast of characters, it is not necessary that you read Dead Heat first to understand or appreciate the brilliance that is Storm Clouds.

Who: Bronwyn Parry

What: Author Talk

When: Tuesday 20th January 2015, 5pm

Where: Edgeworth Library

RSVP: 4958 2026 or book online here

For more Information visit the Libraries Website.

The next event that I’m super excited about this event, the one that sent me screaming around the house like a crazy lady fifteen minutes ago was an email which said that Western Australia Author Loretta Hill is coming to town!

I fell head over heels in love with Loretta Hill’s ‘Girl In’ series after receiving an advanced copy through work. Since then I’ve gobbled up every book and ebook of hers I have been able to find. In fact I’m making my way through her newest release The Maxwell Sisters now (and loving it in case you wanted to know.)

I actually had the opportunity to meet Loretta Hill last year at the Romance Writer Of Australia Conference and the Romance Readers Of Australian Book Signing Event where I feel I may have had made a fool of myself. Which isn’t really anything new, I tend to get excited about books and authors (perhaps too excited at times that I make a fool of myself) and I fear that this up coming event will be no different. I’ve already booked myself in the event online and can’t wait to listen to what she has to say.

Who: Loretta Hill

What: Author Talk

When: Tuesday 17th February 2015, 2-3pm

Where: Cardiff Library

RSVP: 4954 8575 or book online here

For more Information visit the Libraries Website.

 

Are you excited for any local author events? Or have you been to any recently? I’d love to hear from you!

5 thoughts on “Author Events That Make Me Squeal!

  1. lynelleclark says:

    I am the Marketing Director of WDA Publishing and saw your lovely blog. We are currently looking for more bloggers to join us in our book releases. Currently we run a Giveaway and review tour for Starcrossed by Suzanne Carroll.The Giveaway is until January 23, and open world wide.

    If you are interested to join and help out, please let me know: inspiringreads@gmail.com.

    I can send the HTML and PDF as soon as possible. The book is only 57 pages, well written and we would be grateful if you can leave a review on Goodreads and Amazon before January 30.

    I am looking forward hearing from you.
    Marketing Director
    Lynelle Clark
    WDA Publishing

Leave a Reply

