Top Ten Tuesday: Top 10 Books From My Childhood (Or teen years) That I Would Love To Revisit

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke And The Bookish where bloggers and readers create a list of books based on a weekly list theme.

Today’s topic was: Top 10 Books From My Childhood (Or teen years) That I Would Love To Revisit.

The following books all had a pretty profound effect on me in some way or another throughout my childhood/Teens.

1. What Do People Do All Day? By Richard Scarry was the first book I apparently ever got obsessive over.  In particular there was one story in this titled “Firemen To The Rescue” that was my go to story. Apparently I didn’t care too much about the rest of it, that particular story was it! I received this book as a  birthday present from family friends; it’s now 25 years old, bruised and broken ( I wasn’t particularly gentle) and yet it still holds pride and place in my bookshelf.

EDIT: I was talking to my parents about this  and found out that this book ^ was once my safety blanket. It went everywhere with me.

2. Anne Of Green Gables By L.M. Montgomery. This childhood classic is still one of my favourite series. It’s sweet and romantic and just a fantastic story. At one stage I was re-reading these books every year… it’s probably about time I dive back into Anne’s world once more 🙂

3. Seven Little Australians by Ethel Turner. This Australian Classic is also one of my favourite books. In fact the series sits above my computer so that it’s easily accessible for a re-read.

4. When You Wake & Find Me Gone by Maureen McCarthy. Like Seven Little Australian’s this book site above my computer so that I can easily find it whenever I want to re-read. This book rekindled my love affair with reading.

5. The entire Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling. I think we all get why I’d love to revisit this series.

6. The Babysitters Club by Ann M Martin.I think every girl from the 80s and 90s would have read these books at least one. I used to collect them through bookclub (oh those were the days) and I know I got up to 100 of them. Not sure where they are now though or what they would be like to read now.

7. The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett. I re-read this book like crazy and then would watch the film and dream about being part of it all.

8. A Little Princess byFrances Hodgson Burnett..I have both The Secret Garden and A Little Princess in the same beautiful hardback book. I read them usually back to back all the time.

9. Anything by Roald Dahl because the man was a genius.

 Given that so many of these books are series I think I might just leave this list at 9. What books would make your list of childhood books you wish to revisit?

 

 

This week’s topic: Top Ten Characters Who X…

This week’s topic: Top Ten Characters Who X…
2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top 10 Books From My Childhood (Or teen years) That I Would Love To Revisit

  1. Lee Christine says:

    oh Jess! What People Do All Day was my daughter’s favourite book from the age of two years. She loved the logging story but on many occasions we had to read the ENTIRE book to her and its a long one. It used to put my husband to sleep.

    • Jess says:

      Apparently it was my safety blanket and I tortured my grandparents by making them read it to me non stop. Huckle was always my favourite and I reread it yesterday and still quite enjoy the book. I was also quite partial the the following story about the hospital where Huckle gets his teeth taken out and the logging story you mentioned.

Leave a Reply

