It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

Hosted by Sheila @ Book Journey

If you missed last Friday’s post, the first part of this one catches you up on what’s been happening around my part of the country.

So a super storm hit Newcastle/The Hunter/Lake Mac last week and it’s made life interesting to say the least. In the past three days I’ve sat in traffic for hours, driven through flood waters (around a round about, the cops and firemen were there and it was safe, despite a floating car in the lane blocked off), driven through trees, fought with the wind to stay on the road and had to explain to desperate people that we were sold out of torches, batteries, tarps and battery operated radios and that was all by Tuesday!

I lost power for a week, but our house is safe (minus an attempt of a small tree who fell on it) and my all my family members and friends accountable for. So I’m lucky. In fact I had a lot of fun playing card games (particular the vicious game of GO FISH with my ten year old sister) each night in the dark. We laughed, and we had a great time.

I missed reading though and was so relieved when the weekend rolled by as it meant I didn’t have to work during the day and sunlight hours…. and the power was back on so I could read at night!

Naturally I didn’t have a great reading week last week – especially not compared to the week before; I doubt I’ll ever read as many books in the one week again! I did try and read a bit during the night (I saved my ipad specially for night time reading during the power outage).

And although its not book related, I stupidly managed to injure my hand on Saturday. I slammed the thing into an open door frame and its come up swollen and bruised and hurts a lot. I’m currently hoping its nothing serious, and am wearing wrist and hand guards/straps to help it. This week could get interesting though once more from it, for at the moment it hurts to hold the weight of ONE book while reading (with the one hand).

 

 

Read Last Week

 

Currently Reading

After reading the two Marie Rutksoki books back to back, I need something not so emotional this week I think.

4 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

    • Jess says:

      Still really painful and I think it’s gotten worse throughout he week 😦
      I had a dress appointment for it tomorrow. Fully expecting to find out I’ve just bruised the bone or sprained a muscle or something, but man it hurts!

Leave a Reply

