REVIEW: High Strung by T. Gephart

Published: 10th October, 2014

Publisher: Self Published

Format: Ebook thanks to the Author

Series: Power Station, Book One

RRP: $0.99

4/5 Stars

Ashlyn Murphy was not living the dream. Twenty-seven years old, college educated, up to her eyeballs in debt and yet she’d been relegated to pouring beers at a local bar. She desperately needed an out and was willing to do anything to get back into the corporate world. Well, almost anything. Dan Evans, Rock Star was NOT one of those things. In fact she despised him. Apparently he didn’t get the memo.

Dan Evans, bass player of international rock band Power Station had it all. He was rich, travelled the world, played to millions of adoring fans and had no shortage of beautiful women willing to share his bed. He didn’t need a moody redheaded knockout with a superiority complex complicating his life. Or did he?

When two people who couldn’t be more opposite cross paths, it’s bound to be explosive; sometimes all you can do is sit back and enjoy the show.

High Strung is the first book written by Australian Author T. Gephart that I have had the absolute pleasure to read. It was a great place to start and showcases this Aussie Authors tremendous talents, for without a doubt, T. Gephart is a natural born story teller and I can’t wait to read more of her books.

From the moment I started this book I was completely and utterly hooked. Unlike Lick by Kylie Scott, where it was the narrative hook that captured my attention on the very first page on the story, It was Gephart’s writing style and original voice that caught my attention and held me captive in High Strung. In a market where Rock Star Romances are flooding virtual (ebook) bookshelves, this book stands out for its originality and humour, all of which make it a must read!

High Strung is a quick and easy read that I highly recommend to everyone who loves rockstar romances, or loves a well written, spunky, laugh-your-ass-off well rounded story. It’s a little bit quirky, a whole lot of fun, and man that sexual chemistry almost needs it’s own fire department on stand by. It’s a hot romance about two people who get off on the wrong foot and become almost enemies (Ashlyn thinks of Dan as the enemy; Dan just wants Ashlyn) before turning lovers.

While I loved Ashlyn for the most part, Dan tended to bother me at times – he’s conceited, arrogant and just obnoxious at times. From very early on you learn that he is perhaps not the sharpest tool in the shed, but that’s okay because he’s Dan and he makes life what it is. For example, he meets Ashlyn when he is trying to woo over another girl who wants nothing to do with (post one night stand) and he thinks the reasons for her not being into him are because she’s English. He argues this point like this.

We totally told her country to go F *** themselves, don’t tell me that fact we’re American isn’t the reason she is blowing me off.

But there are moments of pure heart and you know with Dan even when he is being conceited and arrogant, he means well. He is loyal to a fault and you know he’d have your back if and whenever you needed it. He’s also fiercely protective and sometimes that was nice. Romance isn’t something that comes natural to Dan, well he thinks it does, but it’s more hit and miss, but he’s reasoning for why its romantic is usually fool proof when he explains it. Ashlyn on the other hand is smart and has the stock market in her grasps. She’s focused, well until she meets Dan and he turns her world upside down, and motivated and pretty damn funny at times too. They both are actually. Even Dan at his most conceited self is usually somewhat funny. The two are stubborn and butt heads so often that they develop this quick repertoire where they literally are firing one liners and witty comments at each other. It’s brilliant writing and really makes this book what it is.

I know this is the first book in the Power Station Series, but I was left feeling like there was so much band back story that I didn’t know. Although this doesn’t interrupt the overall narrative and story structure, and thus isn’t really important to the story, I simply wanted to know about how Alex  Stone and his wife and mother of his child, Lexi Reed meet. I wanted to know about their dark history that has shaped the band in more ways then is first obvious. I wanted to know about the other guys in the bands stories as well. How they feel in love too. I know, I’m lucky enough to be reading this with book two, Crash Ride waiting in my kindle library and the third (and I think final?) book Back Stage on it’s way, but the world that Gephart introduces us to with this book is so big and so alive that I just want to immerse myself in every facet of it. I want more! Not too much to ask surely?! I’m kidding. No seriously :p.

I know I’ve said it before, but High Strung was seriously a quick read. It’s not short by comparison to other narratives, its just got this life of it’s own that means once you start you won’t be able to stop. Seriously. I pretty much read this book in its entirety before I even realised I did. One sitting on a weekend that admittedly took a few hours and I never noticed. I credit this to Gephart’s writing style once more and her vibrant array of characters (which we get to see more of in the rest of the series!!!). The story itself isn’t overly fluffy, but it is very visual. Looking back I kind of think of the book as something I felt rather than read because I could almost see it playing out on a the screen before me… that just so happened to be on my eyelids I guess. It’s also a hot romance, so if that’s not necessarily something you enjoy, then perhaps give this series a miss. That said the sexy times in this book do progress the story alone and it’s not sex for sex sake, but rather its showing the characters growing intimacy (in more way than one) that is in many ways different then just outright sex.

Now bring one book two; I’m so looking forward to reading about Troy Harris and Megs!!!

To learn more about T. Gephart, visit the following sites:

Facebook | Website | Goodreads | Twitter |

 

To purchase a copy of Back Stage, visit the following online retailers;

books AU | Amazon AU | Amazon USSmashwords | Kobo | Barnes & Noble |

 

aww-badge-2015

 

 

 

One thought on “REVIEW: High Strung by T. Gephart

Leave a Reply

