Let’s Talk Books With Len Klumpp, An Avid Supporter (And Reader) of Romance Writers

Let's Talk Books
Today I am super excited to be able to have an amazing man on the blog who not only openly reads Aussie romance writers, but he is one of the most avid and passionate supporter of them!
Len Klumpp is an exceptional reader who isn’t afraid to break the stigma about men reading romance novels, for not only does he read them, he loves them! I’ve had the pleasure of meeting Len once in person while at a local library event and it was such an honour to meet another passionate romance reader, especially one whose become a mini-online celebrity thanks to how openly he supports a genre many think he ‘shouldn’t read’ (what do they know clearly?!).
What are you currently reading?
Just started reading The Saddler Boys by Fiona Palmer. I actually got it a while ago and it has been sitting on my iPad since then. That is very out of character for me as Fiona Palmer and a couple of other writers, I read as soon as I get their books.
What’s the last book you bought?
The Secrets of Midwives by Sally Hepworth. Rachael Johns mentioned it in one of her comments on Facebook, so thought I would have a look, liked it and bought it.
Do you prefer to read books in print or electronically?
Either. Love it when I get a new paperback or if I really love the book I will buy it in paperback so I can put it on display in my Bookshelf. Like iPad for the convenience. As I work different shifts, I can read in bed of a night and not disturb my Wife by having the light. One disadvantage with the iPad as someone told me is, if you fall asleep they hurt when they hit you in the face.
If I was to walk into your house right now, what would you bookshelves look like? Do you have an organisation system (genre, colour, author…) or are you just happy to go with the flow?
Full but organised. I go by Author. All my Rural Romance are on the top shelves, then my Bryce Courtenay and Wilbur Smith, the Bio’s and randoms.
How often do you read?
As often as I can.
Describe what you would expect to find in your dream book? 
Good strong characters, humour, love, compassion. A great sense of community spirit. That’s why I love Rural Romance and related genres.
How do you choose what to read next? 
Facebook, browsing bookshops, word of mouth and sometimes some of the best books I have read have found me.
So you’ve started a book and discover it’s not for you. Are you more likely to discard it or finish it?
I will eventually read it. A few time I have started reading a book, not enjoyed it and a couple of weeks or months down the track picked it up and thoroughly enjoyed it.
If you could read any book again, for the first time, what book would you choose?
Easy. Power of One by Bryce Courtenay. My favourite book of all time.
What is about books that appeals to you so much? What is your favourite part about reading?
The escapism. To be inside that book and it being only for me. I can have in my head what the characters look like, the scenery, the town and its how I want it to be.
What book are you most looking forward to reading next?
I have a couple on pre-order. Mandy Magro’s Wildwood Sisters and Tea Coopers The Horse Thief are two I’m looking forward too. ‘The Bindarra Creek series’ is excellent and I look forward to that each month but the one I’m “hanging” for is Rachael Johns’ Outback Sisters. So many great books!
Thanks for stopping by Len, it’s been a real pleasure to chat books with you!
4 thoughts on “Let’s Talk Books With Len Klumpp, An Avid Supporter (And Reader) of Romance Writers

    • Jess says:

      I love Len’s courage and determination in this regard. He is a true supporter of the genre and has done so much for Australian romance authors. I met him at an author event and he is the same as he is online in person. A beautiful soul!

Leave a Reply

