3rd Birthday Celebration Giveaway: Darkest Place by Jaye Ford

So when I decided to run so many giveaways, the plan wasn’t to buy more books to giveaway. I literally have a huge stack that I’m plucking books from and the idea was that they would go and the bag of blog swag would go and all would be good. Then I read this book. This amazing, incredibly, scary book by local author Jaye Ford. And that was that.

For anyone who follows me on facebook you would have seen the two posts (on the blog’s page and on my personal one) about ‘Darkest Place’ and how I only had two words to sum it up. Terrifyingly Addictive. As soon as I hit post on that update, I knew that I simply had to give a copy of this book away. So I am. What’s more, I’m super lucky and fortunate enough to be attending the book launch for this amazing book this weekend, so not only will the winner of this book receive a fantastic new release by an astounding Australian author, but there is a very high chance they will get a signed copy!

To win this potentially signed copy, simply leave a comment below explaining what it is that makes a crime thriller novel great for you? Is it the suspense? Or the characters? The setting? Or something more sinister?

For me personally its that eerie undertone of something not being right when everything looks…right. That feeling that sends goosebumps up your arms and catches your breath in your throat. And that’s saying something because I’m a chicken, an out and proud self-proclaimed chicken!

Unfortunately due to funds, this giveaway will be restricted to Australian residents only. Entries close at midnight on Sunday 7th February 2016, with winners notified by email and announced on the blog the following afternoon. The winner will be notified once the parcel has been shipped, but no responsibility will be taken once the parcel has been shipped.

 

An adrenaline-pumping suspense novel from the author of Beyond Fear. What do you do when your nightmares are real – and no one believes you?

Carly Townsend is starting over after a decade of tragedy and pain. In a new town and a new apartment she’s determined to leave the memories and failures of her past behind.

However that dream is shattered in the dead of night when she is woken by the shadow of a man next to her bed, silently watching her. And it happens week after week.

Yet there is no way an intruder could have entered the apartment. It’s on the fourth floor, the doors are locked and there is no evidence that anyone has been inside.

With the police doubting her story, and her psychologist suggesting it’s all just a dream, Carly is on her own. And being alone isn’t so appealing when you’re scared to go to sleep . . .

 

6 thoughts on “3rd Birthday Celebration Giveaway: Darkest Place by Jaye Ford

  1. christinestinson says:

    Always the characters. The more I like/empathise with them, the more I care about what happens to them. Jaye Ford writes such wonderful characters, then puts them through the wringer – and me with them! Love her books.

    • Jess says:

      Hey Christine,
      That’s so true about characters. I think as long as they are strong, and make you react strongly to them (in either the positive or negative way) then you are so much more invested in their well-being and safety on so many levels. I’ve read some crime books where I’ve hated a particular character so strongly – I’m thinking Gone Girl here, because I really didn’t like anyone in that book let’s face it – but because I reacted so strongly to them, I was invested in making sure they got their just deserts… (even if they really didn’t in that particular book).
      Jaye writes such fantastic characters and stories though, I find I’m almost with the character from the very first page!

  2. Amanda Barrett says:

    For me a great crime thriller with an Australian setting works best. I love authors such as Jaye Ford, Candice Fox, Katherine Howell and Kathryn Fox. All these authors write such compelling books, made even more authentic and realistic by their use of setting. A great aussie female lead makes a crime thriller even better in my eyes.

    • Jess says:

      I totally agree Amanda. I’ve read a lot of crime/thriller books set both in Australia, American and Europe, but I think it’s the Aussie one’s that are more chilling and terrifying for me. I’d say the fact that they are happening in my ‘own backyard’ would I guess be one of the reasons, but I just think some of our Australian authors (like those you’ve mentioned), have been able to write more realistic and down to earth crime novels that aren’t so far fetched and I guess unbelievable/unachievable in our eyes.

  3. Amy says:

    I think the suspense the writing creates is wonderful. If you have characters you’re invested in experiencing things that you find suspenseful, it’s a great combination as well. I love the feeling of not knowing what will happen but knowing something is going to happen.

    • Jess says:

      Then you will love this book. Trust me. I started reading this one as my day time book – because I’m a scardy cat and need to sleep sometime right, so a more gentle book is needed for then. Well it didn’t stay that way. This book is terrifyingly addictive with the need to know more and the thousand questions of what is really going on!

Leave a Reply

