Let’s Talk Books With … Cheryl Adnams, Author of ‘Bet On It’ (+ Giveaway)

Let's Talk Books

Today I’m super excited not only because this is the first ‘Let’s Talk Books With …” post of 2016, but because today I’m excited to introduce you to Aussie Author Cheryl Adnams. I meet Cheryl for the first time two years ago at the Romance Writers of Australia conference and she was so lovely down to earth and really made me feel welcome in an environment where I felt on the outside. Cheryl writes these amazing contemporary romance stories that are sure to sweep you on your feet and have that little something for everyone in them. So without further ado, I welcome Cheryl Adnams to The Never Ending Bookshelf.

 Cheryl Adnams lives in Adelaide, South Australia. After discovering a love of writing in high school, she went on to complete courses in screenplay writing and a Diploma of Freelance Travel Writing and Photography.
Having travelled extensively, Cheryl lived and worked in the United States, Canada and then for a tour company in Switzerland and Austria. Back home in South Australia now, she has a deep love and pride for the Fleurieu Peninsula and Adelaide Hills regions – particularly the beauty of the beaches and wine region of McLaren Vale.
When she’s not writing, Cheryl is avidly reading as many books as she can fit in around her busy full-time job as a training facilitator.

                    

What are you currently reading?

I just finished Escaping Mr Right by Avril Tremayne and Hold on to Me by Victoria Purman. I have now picked up Karly Lane’s Tallowood Bound. I got so many books for my birthday and Christmas that I am averaging a book a week just now.

  

What was the last book you bought?

I bought a few (including the above) with a Christmas voucher. As well as Emily Madden’s Summers with Juliette.

Do you prefer to read books in print or electronically?

I like both and they both have their benefits. I find holding the ereader easier and of course there is the benefit of have many, many books at my fingertips for holidays without filling my suitcase with print books.

If I was to walk into your house right now, what would your bookshelves look like? Do you have an organisation system (genre, colour, author…) or are you just happy to go with the flow?

I did organise them recently by author but now I have so many books I am scrambling for room and it’s just a mottled mess. I want to create a floor to ceiling bookshelf in my spare room but need to wait until I have some more money and stop taking holidays. (So never).

How often do you read?

I try to read a few times a week. Mostly at night after work and on weekends when I have finished my own writing for the day.

Describe what you would expect to find in your dream book?

A story that sucks me in so that I just cannot put the book down. It’s been a while since I had a book really hook me so that I didn’t want to go to work or go to sleep as I just had to finish it. But I did read Escaping Mr Right in 2 days. I was hooked.

How do you choose what to read next?

There are some authors I really love so I will get whatever they release next. But I also try to fit in a new author every now and again because reading is an ongoing learning process for us authors and it is great to come across someone with a different style to my own or to understand what frustrates me in other books so that I don’t repeat the same errors.

So you’ve started a book and discover it’s not for you. Are you more likely to discard it or finish it?

It depends. If I am really struggling with the style of writing or how long it is taking to get to the story, then I tend to put it down. But occasionally I will pick it back up and try again because often it is about your own mood at the time of reading some stories. If I still struggle to get into it then I put it aside.

If you could read any book again, for the first time, what book would you choose?

Hm, that’s tough. But I often go back to Nora Roberts’ series books like the Bride Quartet or the Inn Boonsboro series. She was the author who got me back into writing after years of laziness.

 

What is about books that appeals to you so much? What is your favourite part about reading?

I love escaping into different worlds. If the world is beautifully described then you just sink into it.

Also I love snappy dialogue and I love to laugh so any book like that will win me. My favourite part about reading though is the peace it brings me. The noise of commercial TV does my head in. When I turn it off and read, I calm down. A cold day, a book and a glass of wine is heaven.

Was there any particular book that inspired you to start writing?

I began writing when I was 14 years old and I can pretty much attribute that to S.E. Hinton’s The Outsider. Such a powerful book for a teenage girl to read and so beautifully written. I started writing fan fiction and found I had a knack for it.

Do you have any advice to other writers out there?

The most important thing I think is that to be a writer in this day and age you have to love it. You have to NEED to do it. You will probably not earn millions writing books, you may not even earn enough to quit your day job. That sounds cynical but it’s true and I think people need to be realistic about why they want to write. Do it for the love. Not the money.

And lastly, what are you currently working on?

I just completed my first Australian historical romance and boy was that an experience. The research was so much fun but writing historical is a lot more demanding than writing contemporary. So many more facts need to be accurate about the era you are writing. I have started a follow up to that historical but I am also working on a contemporary. Need to shake it up a bit.

Thank you so much for stopping by and chatting with us here at The Never Ending Bookshelf.

Thanks Jess.

   

To learn more about Cheryl Adnams, visit the following social media sites:

Cheryl Adnams Website | Facebook | Twitter

WIN: To win one of Cheryl’s ebooks of your choosing, tell us in the comments which fictional character you would want to join in any book if you could?

This giveaway is open internationally, with books being sent via Amazon. Entries close midnight Sunday 7th February, with winners announced the following afternoon.

 

 

3 thoughts on “Let’s Talk Books With … Cheryl Adnams, Author of ‘Bet On It’ (+ Giveaway)

  1. Jessy says:

    Would love to join Sherlock Holmes. As he is very observant. The most intelligent, focussed and secretive characters of all time. I love reading detective novels and always dreamed of being a detective. I could learn a lot from him ..

    • Jess says:

      I’m ashamed to admit I’ve never read Sherlock Holmes. It’s been on my TBR forever, and while I know there is a copy somewhere in the house, I still haven’t read it yet. I do like his characterisation though from the little bits and pieces I’ve read and seen elsewhere. And I love the current BBC adaptation.

  2. Jessy says:

    It happens to everyone. We have books on our TBR list and when new books release we read that and the ones on the list takes forever to read. I watch the BBC Adaptation also. Love it.

Leave a Reply

