Let’s Talk Books with Kristine From Glass Paper Ink (Blogger) and Sydney Author Event (SAE) Organiser

Let's Talk Books

 

Today I’m excited to introduce you all to a wonderful blogger, Kristine, who reviews over at Glass Paper Ink. I’ve been following this blog personally for what feels like forever and absolutely love her unique style (books are rated by lipsticks!). Kristin is also one of the organisers of the extremely popular Sydney Author Event (SAE) – which is on again in August and if you happen to live in Sydney, or let’s face it, anyway in Australia, you should totally go and check the event out. Without further ado, everyone this is Kristin!

 

What are you currently reading?

Lulu’s Loves by Barbara S. Stewart

What’s the last book you bought?

Low by Mary Elizabeth and To Love Jason Thorne by Ella Maise

 

Do you prefer to read books in print or electronically?

Generally ebooks, it’s the convenience, and the ability to make notes on quotes I love for reviews.

If I was to walk into your house right now, what would your bookshelves look like? Do you have an organisation system (genre, colour, author…) or are you just happy to go with the flow?

Not really, I have three full bookshelves, most of which are signed or will be by the end of this year, each author is grouped together in order of series.

How often do you read?

Every day, whenever I’m not working at my 9-5 job or writing reviews, or spending time with my husband, or sleeping…

Describe what you would expect to find in your dream book?

Heart, heat and humour, I want a book to make me forget time and space, I want to revel in the authors words, I want to get lost, but most of all I want to FEEL!!

How do you choose what to read next?

It’s a mix of blog and beta reading commitments and whatever blurb or cover tickle my interest, I’m lucky that I read quickly.

So you’ve started a book and discover it’s not for you. Are you more likely to discard it or finish it?

Ahhhh tough question….are we talking total struggle street??? In the last three years I’ve had maybe 3 books that I didn’t finish, if the book is a blog commitment, then I will always finish it, and write my review stating what I felt and though, why I didn’t or couldn’t connect, if it’s a book I #1clicked on my own then I will often put it down and come back to it.

If you could read any book again, for the first time, what book would you choose?

Slammed by Colleen Hoover, that book….gah FSOG may have been the book that got me reading again, but Slammed kept me reading and introduced me to the world of indie authors. Other than that, my platinum reads (my ultimate best books of all time rating) so Now Leaving Sugartown by Carmen Jenner, The Fall Up by Aly Martinez, More Than Enough  and Kick Push by Jay McLean, Broken Juliet by Leisa Rayven, and the entire Rock Chick series by Kristen Ashley, Aced by K. Bromberg, Painted Faces by LH Cosway.

     

What is about books that appeals to you so much? What is your favourite part about reading?

Getting lost in another reality. Picking up a book, and watching time fly by without a care in the world, feeling something, being so emotionally invested in the characters that I can’t tell where they end and I begin, I love that “aha” moment when everything just clicks, when you just get it, it’s pretty much the pinnacle of reading for me, happy, sad, angry, lost, I don’t care which emotion as long as you draw it out of me.

Can you tell us a bit about your blog and how long have you been blogging for?

Glass Paper Ink started in January of 2014 on Facebook, I was beta reading for Lilliana Anderson and decided screw this I’m going to start a blog, I was just my little corner of the blogosphere where I could talk books, slowly it grew, by the end of 2014 the need to create an actual independent blog space became necessary, Mr Ben Ellis of Be Designs started working on a blog, graphics, a unique rating system (LIPSTICK!!! I rate in lipstick) and by the end of January 2015 the website was live. My blog is different from a lot of others in that I don’t focus on posting new release and coming soon lists. I read what I want, I review honestly, I’m vigilant with what books I sign up for or receive for reviews, I work with different publishing houses to get my reviews out there, I beta read for over twenty authors now on a consistent basis, I’m definitely social media focused, but more than just reviewing I also want to engage with readers, I love passionate book discussion above all else.

Do you have any advice to other bloggers out there?

Don’t get bogged down by numbers, don’t worry about how big you are, a very wise woman, Natasha Tomic, from Natasha is a Book Junkie once said to me when I off handily commented that GPI was a tiny little blog during a blogging panel we were both part of that size doesn’t determine your worth, nor does it impact on your ability to do what you love, there’s this meme floating around that reminds us that the number of followers isn’t something you should lose yourself in, Hitler had millions, Jesus had 12, not that I’m comparing myself to either but it’s a good reminder, that stressing over how many followers you have is inconsequential to your ability to continue promoting books you love and discussing authors you admire, if one person buys a book because of me and my review then that’s enough for me.

Can you tell us a bit about the Sydney Author Event and how that came about?

SAE was Ryn’s brain child, and for some hokey reason, the team she brought together wanted me involved (they’re stuck with me now!!) Back in 2012 when Australian signings were more industry focused Ryn had the idea to bring indie and traditional published authors to Australia, SAE became an entity all of its own, from there, Ryn recruited a team to make it a reality. SAE is different from other Aussie signings in that it’s a boutique event, with only 25 signing authors, across different genres, both well known and new to the industry, indie and traditionally published.

What is your favourite part about the Sydney Author Event?

EVERYTHING!! Meeting people I admire, standing in front of them and thanking them for changing my life in ways I can’t even describe, relaxing with a wine at the end of it all, knowing that we did this, we brought this incredible bunch of talented authors together, seeing the smiles on readers faces, the happy tears, all of it, it’s an incredible feeling.

What is your least favourite part about the Sydney Author Event?

Filling the goodie bags….and wanting to keep the books and gifts for myself.

Who are you most looking forward to meeting at the Sydney Author Event this year?

Emily Hemmer, she’s become one of my closest friends, and to be in the same country WOW!! Penny Reid, I’ve been chatting with her for so long, so I’m excited to catch up with her in person, LH Cosway because OMG she wrote Painted Faces, one of my fave books of all time, Christina Lauren… (I’m trying to keep my fangirl in check…but I’m determined to make them my new BFF’s before the end of SAE2016. Then on top of that I get to catch up with my Aussie ladies, Carmen, Rachel, Kelly, Trishy, Kasey, Leisa and Kylie…. Wine with those ladies. I CAN’T WAIT!!

Is there anything we should know about the Sydney Author Event?

Tickets are still available, but they are almost sold out…have you got yours yet??

For more information on or about the Sydney Author Event visit the following websites:

Facebook | Sydney Author Event Website | Instagram | Twitter

To purchase tickets to the Sydney Author Event click here.

 

To check out Kristine’s blog, Glass Paper Ink, click here.

 

Do you happen to be going to this year’s Sydney Author Event? If so, let us know in the comments who you are most looking forward to meeting?

Leave a Reply

