Top Ten Tuesday:Top Ten Books I Enjoyed Recently (last yearish) That Weren’t My Typical Genre/Type of Book

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke And The Bookish where bloggers and readers create a list of books based on a weekly list theme.

Today’s topic was:  Top Ten Books I Enjoyed Recently (last yearish) That Weren’t My Typical Genre/Type of Book

  1. Captive Prince by C.S. Pacat.

All three book’s in this series have made this top ten list simply because not only were they astounding books that I simply couldn’t get more of, but the books themselves are MM (Male Male) romance and I’ve never read one before. Ever. I loved them.

Damen is a warrior hero to his people, and the rightful heir to the throne of Akielos, but when his half brother seizes power, Damen is captured, stripped of his identity, and sent to serve the prince of an enemy nation as a pleasure slave.

Beautiful, manipulative and deadly, his new master Prince Laurent epitomises the worst of the decadent court at Vere. But in the lethal web of Veretian politics, nothing is as it seems, and when Damen is caught up in a dangerous play for the throne, he must form an alliance with Laurent to survive and save his country.

For Damen, there is just one rule: he must never reveal his true identity. Because the one man Damen needs is the one man who has more reason to hate him than anyone else . . .

2. Prince’s Gambit by C.S.Pacat &  King’s Rising by C.S.Pacat

“This was Vere’s most powerful lords unfurling their banners for war.”

With their countries on the brink of war, Damen and his new master Prince Laurent must exchange the intrigues of the palace for the sweeping might of the battlefield as they travel to the border to avert a lethal plot.

Forced to hide his identity, Damen finds himself drawn to the dangerous, charismatic Laurent. But as the fledgeling trust between the two men deepens, the truth of secrets from both their pasts is poised to deal them the crowning death blow…

 

Damianos of Akielos has returned.

His identity now revealed, Damen must face his master Prince Laurent as Damianos of Akielos, the man Laurent has sworn to kill.

On the brink of a momentous battle, the future of both their countries hangs in the balance. In the south, Kastor’s forces are massing. In the north, the Regent’s armies are mobilising for war. Damen’s only hope of reclaiming his throne is to fight together with Laurent against their usurpers.

Forced into an uneasy alliance the two princes journey deep into Akielos, where they face their most dangerous opposition yet. But even if the fragile trust they have built survives the revelation of Damen’s identity – can it stand against the Regent’s final, deadly play for the throne?

3. Seducing His Enemy’s Daughter by Annie West

This book made he list because of what format it is in and who published it. I’m new to Mills&Boon and if you’d asked me a year and half ago to read one, I might have looked at you like you were crazy. Yep. I’m ashamed to admit it.

Mills & Boon Sexy series delivers what you love in contemporary romance – glamour and scandal in exotic locations…

Just a pawn in Salazar’s game?

Donato Salazar can’t forget his tragic past and he has no intention of forgiving the man responsible. Jilting his enemy’s daughter will be the icing on the cake of his revenge, and beautiful Ella Sanderson is certainly sweet enough.

Except Ella isn’t the vacuous socialite he expected, and she refuses to marry him! Her rebelliousness only makes Donato want her more, so he’ll have to persuade her…touch by breathtaking touch. But soon Donato finds himself enthralled by their magnetic connection…

As their fake wedding day approaches one question weighs heavily on Donato’s mind: will he love, honour…and betray?

 

4. Pushing The Limits by Kurt Fearnley

I really enjoy non-fiction and biographies, but I don’t get a lot of time to read any of it. So when we happened to have Kurt coming in for a book signing I knew I had to read the book first. I devoured it. Kurt Fearnley is an inspiration and one hell of a battler. I can’t do half the things he can, and yet he never gave up no matter what life threw at him. I’m not a sports bio person, but I can’t recommend this book enough.

When Kurt Fearnley was a kid, he would leave his wheelechair at the front gate and go exploring with his brothers and sisters. ‘You’re going to have to be stronger than we are,’ they told him, ‘and we know you will be.’

The boy from Carcoar was raised to believe he could do anything. At fifteen, he won his first medal. Then he conquered the world, winning three Paralympic gold medals, seven world championships and more than 35 marathons. A world-beater in and out of his wheelchair, Kurt is a true Australian champion.

Inspiring, exhilarating and highly entertaining, Pushing the Limits takes us inside the mind of a kid with a disability growing up in a tiny town, a teenager finding his place in the world, and an elite sportsman who refuses to give up, no matter how extreme the challenge.

5. Six Days in Leningrad by Paullina Simons.

I first read this as an ebook while I was in Russia, visiting the places mentioned. It wasn’t something planned, but rather something I found on Amazon while overseas and downloaded quick smart. I read the entire book in three days while visiting the cities it mentioned. It was a surreal experience to be able to see the palces this book talked about while reading what influenced and altered one of my all time favourite novels and authors – The Bronze Horseman by Paullina Simons.

The never-before-told story of the journey behind The Bronze Horseman.

From the author of the celebrated, internationally bestselling Bronze Horseman saga comes a glimpse into the private life of its much loved author, and the real story behind the epic novels. Paullina Simons gives us a work of non-fiction as captivating and heart-wrenching as the lives of Tatiana and Alexander.
Only a few chapters into writing her first story set in Russia, her mother country, Paullina Simons travelled to Leningrad (now St Petersburg) with her beloved Papa. What began as a research trip turned into six days that forever changed her life, the course of her family, and the novel that became THE BRONZE HORSEMAN.
After a quarter-century away from her native land, Paullina and her father found a world trapped in yesteryear, with crumbling stucco buildings, entire families living in seven-square-meter communal apartments, and barren fields bombed so badly that nothing would grow there even fifty years later.
And yet there were the spectacular white nights, the warm hospitality of family friends and, of course, the pelmeni and caviar. At times poignant, at times inspiring and funny, this is both a fascinating glimpse into the inspiration behind the epic saga, and a touching story of a family’s history, a father and a daughter, and the fate of a nation

6. Sheikh’s Princess Bride by Annie West

Yep. It’s another Annie West title. This one makes the list, because despite reading it prior to Seducing His Enemy’s Daughter, I had never in my life read a Sheikh novel or one set in the Middle East. I devoured this and am constantly on the look out for more.

Wanted: royal bride and mother!
For Sheikh Tariq of Al Sarath, one miserable marriage was enough. With a kingdom to rule he has no time—nor wish—to find a bride, but his children need a mother.
Could Princess Samira of Jazeer be the answer? Samira has sampled passion, and it left a bad taste… So, knowing she can’t have the children she’s always wanted, Samira steps into Tariq’s ready-made family. Her only condition? No sex!
Samira had thought royal duties and her love for Tariq’s children would fill the hole in her heart, but a craving is building that only the Sheikh’s touch can cure…
Desert Vows

Two powerful desert princes…and the only women who can tame them.
As desire burns hotter than the desert sand, can these powerful sheikhs withstand the heat of temptation?

 

7. Seven Years (and the entire series) by Dannika Dark

I went on a werewolf binge last year and read all of this author’s work (plus another entire werewolf series by a different author) in  just one week.While reading paranormal isn’t usual for me, I hadn’t read a lot of it prior to this in ages and I simply loved it. I’m still on the look out for something just as good.

Seven years ago, my world ended.
Seven years later, my new life began.

It’s been seven years since Lexi Knight lost her brother in a tragic accident. On the anniversary of his death, her brother’s best friend shows up unexpectedly – a man she hasn’t seen since the funeral. He is no longer the boy Lexi once knew, but a dangerous-looking man with tattoos and dark secrets. He broke her trust and abandoned her family, yet what he reveals makes it impossible to stay angry. Lexi has been secretly infatuated with Austin since childhood, so finding out he’s a Shifter just makes him sexier. Dammit.

Austin Cole has returned to the city where he grew up, and just in time. He’s lived a hard life these past seven years, and the shadows of his past are threatening to destroy Lexi’s family. It’s time that she learned the truth about her brother, but there is a shocking twist that Austin never saw coming. Now he must protect her family when her mother and sister wind up in mortal danger. Will Lexi learn to accept the truth about who he is, and can Austin salvage a relationship from the ruins of their past?

Destiny will find you.

9. Sailing Alone Around The Room by Billy Collins

I’m not a poetry person. At all. We barely tolerate each other. I just don’t get it more often then not, and clearly poetry doesn’t get me ever. So when my friend suggested this for bookclub I was scared. But I absolutely loved this and understood every single one of them.

10. 1,411 IQ Facts To Knock You Sideways.

This one makes the list because I don’t think I’ve ever read an QI book before, nor have I read ANY trivia book straight through in one day. Some of the stuff in here I knew, but most of it was knew to me – or the corrections were new to me – and I learnt a bunch 🙂

1,227 QI Facts blew your socks off. 1,339 QI Facts made your jaw drop. Now the QI team return with this year’s groaning sack of astonishment. Prepare to be knocked sideways…

Orchids can get jetlag. Lizards can’t walk and breathe at the same time. There are 177,147 ways to tie a tie. Ladybird orgasms last for 30 minutes. Traffic lights existed before cars. Sir Bruce Forsyth is four months older than sliced bread. The soil in your garden is 2 million years old.

 

This week’s topic: Top Ten Characters Who X…
This week’s topic: Top Ten Characters Who X…
6 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday:Top Ten Books I Enjoyed Recently (last yearish) That Weren’t My Typical Genre/Type of Book

  1. Jessy says:

    Hi! Jess,
    Thanks for sharing the books you read and enjoyed. I have read Annie West’s Seducing his enemy’s daughter. Loved it. My kind of books would be Annie West’s and Paullina Simone’s ones.

    • Jess says:

      Ohh. You and I have such similar tastes. I love it.
      Paullina Simon’s is a must buy author for me. Her Bronze Horseman Series is still one of my all time favourite series. And then when she released this memoir which is part memoir part writing inspiration, and I happened to be in the country and places she was talking about at the time I read it – it was like another entire experience.

  2. anniewest says:

    Jess, I’m chuffed to see some of my titles here. What an honour. Smiling to see you’ve discovered Mills and Boon! 🙂 Happy reading through 2016. I’m enjoying some new-to-me authors right now and loving them.

    • Jess says:

      Hey Annie,
      I just devoured your new release 🙂
      It’s weird because I’ve had a lot of exposure to Mills & Boon titles, but really didn’t read many of them until now. I have no clue what took me so long to discover them.

      • anniewest says:

        Hi Jess. Hey, that’s brilliant news. So thrilled you enjoyed ‘Vow’! I think sometimes it’s a matter of being in the right frame of mind for a particular book or style of story. Hope you keep finding titles you enjoy!

Leave a Reply

