Let’s Talk Books with Brenda May, Avid Reader and Writer

Let's Talk Books

Today I am over the moon with excitement! Why you may ask? Because today I get to introduce you all to an amazing writing friend of mine who has a massive future ahead of her. I first meet Brenda two years ago at the Romance Writers of Australia conference in Sydney through a mutual friend.  Not only is she a lovely person, an even better friend and fantastic writer, but she’s going to be a name you want to remember for the future!

Brenda May is an Australian romantic suspense writer. She has kept and treasured the first book she ever owned, Heidi by Johanna Spyri, but it was Enid Blyton’s Famous Five and the Secret Seven that ignited her love of adventure, mystery and fantasy. A strict and rigid bedtime as a young girl right in the middle of her parent’s favourite crime show encouraged Brenda’s imagination as she had to make up her own endings so she could sleep peacefully.

What are you currently reading?

In print – Just about to start, Turtle Reef by Jennifer Scoullar.

On my kindle – Any Way You Dream It by Monique McDonell.

What was the last book you bought?

Lee Child’s Make Me. It’s a thriller, just getting up the nerve to read it.

Do you prefer to read books in print or electronically?

Print. You can’t beat the smell and feel of a new book, or the sound it makes when you flick through the pages. But I do have a loaded kindle which I carry all the time. So I am never without a book to read, you never know when you might breakdown or get stuck in a flood.

If I was to walk into your house right now, what would your bookshelves look like? Do you have an organisation system (genre, colour, author…) or are you just happy to go with the flow?

Sadly I had to leave my ceiling to floor bookshelves and a lot of my books behind when I moved recently. Now I only have two moderate bookshelves. Organised by author and series, one is fantasy the other romance, with the odd crime and thriller on the side. Both bookshelves are adorned with statues of dragons, owls and candles.

How often do you read?

Usually every day. Recently, not often enough. I am writing and editing more than I am reading.

Describe what you would expect to find in your dream book?

If I combined my two favourite genres together, fantasy and romantic suspense. A fascinating new world filled with adventure, action, and spicy romance. A feisty heroine with her hero riding a magnificent dragon, after all, you cant have a fantasy book without a dragon.

How do you choose what to read next?

I have a pile of unread books in a basket next to my bed. It’s a bit like a lucky dip 🙂

So you’ve started a book and discover it’s not for you. Are you more likely to discard it or finish it?

If I can’t connect with a book, I will generally put it on the ‘to try again’ pile. If I still cant get into it, I’ll try and analyse why before I find it a new home. I will never throw a book away.

If you could read any book again, for the first time, what book would you choose?

That’s hard I have so many favourites. Isobelle Carmody‘s Obernewtyn; although Battleaxe by Sara Douglass comes a pretty close second.

What is about books that appeals to you so much? What is your favourite part about reading?

I am constantly amazed by the ideas and characters living inside authors heads and just love that feeling when you can’t put a book down and know you will be so tired at work the next day, but don’t care. Just one more chapter.

Was there any particular book that inspired you to start writing?

I had always been a fantasy reader. A friend gave me a survival basket after the birth of my first daughter. In it was a romance novel, I think it was by Emma Darcy, and I was hooked on happily ever afters. The more I read, the more I wanted to write my own.

Do you have any advice to other writers out there?

In particular to aspiring authors, learn as much as you can about your craft. Develop solid writing habits, join a writers group either in the flesh or on line and importantly, share your work with others, get some feedback. Most of all, enjoy each part of the process and never give up on your dream.

And lastly, what are you currently working on?

A series called All Roads Lead to Love. It’s set in tropical north Queensland, and takes you into the world of undercover agents, crime gangs, romance and suspense. The first book, A Wild Ride to Love, is complete and I am finalising the last edits before I send it off into the land of publishers. I had successful pitches at the RWA conference in Melbourne. The second novel, is two thirds into the first draft and I have a clear vision towards the end. Books four to six have rough outlines. Each book will be a stand alone romance with the crime arc running through all six books.

 

To learn more about Brenda and her writing, visit the following social media sites:

Brenda’s Website | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | Pinterest

 

 

Leave a Reply

