Let’s Talk Books With Jess Moon

Let's Talk Books

Today I’m pleased to introduce you all to a good friend of mine, Jess Anderson-Moon. I’ve know Jess for years and we’ve bonded over our mutual love of dance and the written word. Sadly it’s been a while since I saw Jess in person or that we got to talk books, so I was pretty excited to chat with her about the books she was reading and those she is most looking forward to read.

 

What are you currently reading?

To Kill A Mockingbird by harper Lee … for the 100th time!

What’s the last book you bought?

The Girl On The Train by  Paula Hawkins

Do you prefer to read books in print or electronically?

I like both. Nothing compares to a physical book however. I love collecting them and the smell of leather bound books. Kindles/e-readers’ are practical though especially when I’m holidaying, so I don’t need to take ten books with me!

If I was to walk into your house right now, what would you bookshelves look like? Do you have an organisation system (genre, colour, author…) or are you just happy to go with the flow?

They are all sorted alphabetical by author, then by date published by that author. It works for me and makes it easy to find them. I’m one of those people who will re-read a book I love, so being able to find them easily works especially well.

How often do you read?

Every day. Some days I read longer than others.

Describe what you would expect to find in your dream book?

I love a good love story set in war times. I love books based in historic settings or periods of time and a love story thrown in works well for me.

How do you choose what to read next?

Usually via recommendations from friends or websites.

So you’ve started a book and discover it’s not for you. Are you more likely to discard it or finish it?

Discard it. I try and give each book a chance but sometimes I just can’t get into them. If I’m not hooked by chapter five, the book goes.

If you could read any book again, for the first time, what book would you choose?

To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee. I first read it at school and didn’t appreciate it for what it was. It was just a school text then. I would love to read it now once more now that I’m older and wiser to see my reaction.

What is about books that appeals to you so much? What is your favourite part about reading?

Escaping into another reality.

I can tune out and just relax, read and get lost in someone else’s world for a while.

What book are you most looking forward to reading next?

Um… not sure I should say!

Holly Madison has a new book and I’m excited to read it.

She’s my number one embarrassing guilty pleasure lol!

Leave a Reply

