Let’s Talk Books With Tash Drake from Book Lit Love

Let's Talk Books

 

Today I’m excited to introduce to you a fellow book blogger, Tash Drake.

Some of you might know Tash from her blog Book Lit Love (which is fabulous by the way and you should totally check it out) or Fictionally Yours Melbourne 2015, where Tash was one of the blogger helpers running the event. I’ve know semi-known Tash for a while now through various book groups online. Tash is not only a massive avid romance reader, but she’s a totally sweetheart who lives and breathes books.

 

What are you currently reading?

I am currently reading an arc of Wicked Heart by Leisa Rayven after falling head over heels for the first two books in the series.

Whats the last book you bought?

The last paperback book I brought was actually a tour guide to London as I’m travelling there in June. The last ebook I brought was Stuck-Up Suit by Penelope Ward & Vi Keeland.

Do you prefer to read books in print or electronically?

I use to be a print paperback 100% 24/7 type of person however since the digital era of ebooks really took up 2-3 years ago I prefer reading electronically now. I read between 2-4 books a week which is why I love ereaders for the convince and also can you imagine the house of book hoarders I would live in if I brought every book I read for 2-3 years 😉

If I was to walk into your house right now, what would your bookshelves look like? Do you have an organisation system (genre, colour, author) or are you just happy to go with the flow?

I have a few bookshelves however my main bookshelf is inbuilt into a wall and it is made mostly up of signed books, I have categorised my bookshelves into two halves, one for Australian based authors and one for international authors. I then categories them into traditional/self-published and then I categorise them by author. As most of the books I own are romances/New Adult I don’t find it necessary to organise by genre but by author. {P.S also by height of books}

How often do you read?

Every single day and every single night. A lot of what I do in my career and through blogging/reading is incorporating the written word, so no matter whether it’s pleasure reading, reading for university or for work you will be always find me reading. Every. Single. Day.

Describe what you would expect to find in your dream book?

My dream book needs to make me laugh even if its just in one-line, it also needs to have relatively good pace because I find that books that slow-burn tend to take days to finish whereas a fast-paced book I’m engaged in reading I will not stop reading until I’m finished. Also the ratio to descriptive language and dialogue is a big thing for me; a dream book will have both enough description of the scene with the flow of the dialogue fitting like a lock and key.

How do you choose what to read next?

It really comes down to how I’m feeling at the time of picking up my kindle as silly as it sounds. Sometimes after an emotional read I want to read something that’s light-hearted to just brighten me up a little. I don’t take into consideration really what others are reading although I appreciate trends and what others recommend I really like to choose my next read on sub-genres and if an author admire releases a new book.

So youve started a book and discover its not for you. Are you more likely to discard it or finish it?

99% of books I finish; I haven’t met a book I haven’t finished although there are a few I have skimmed to the end. I put my trust into authors when I pick up the book and I really try to finish it even if it takes me days.

If you could read any book again, for the first time, what book would you choose?

This is such a hard question; if I had to pick one it would be Where The Road Takes Me by Jay McLean as this book holds a very special place in my heart and I would love to read it all over again to feel how I felt the first time I read it again.

What is about books that appeals to you so much? What is your favourite part about reading?

Books have always been apart of my life from when I was a very little kid my nan would read stories to me and the reason books appeal to me is because your entering a world of fiction where you can escape the realities of everyday to a degree. My favourite part about reading is that if you have a crappy day you pick up a book and immediately you are swept into a world of stories and characters that are fictional and just for a second your troubles can rest.

Can you tell us a bit about your blog and how long have you been blogging for?

I run Book Lit Love and it’s a romance book blog that is mostly dedicated to New Adult and Contemporary Romance although I do read other genres like Young Adult and Erotica. My blog originally was a lifestyle blog back in 2013 and I started posting more and more about books to the point where I decided to re-launch as a book blog. I have been blogging for about 4 years now on various platforms and not always books. I started Book Lit Love officially over 2 years ago just before RWDU and trust me I’m still as shy as I was then now.

What has been your favourite book you’ve reviewed on your blog?

It’s really hard to pick one of my favourite books I have reviewed but I would say Why Now? by Carey Heywood and The Fire Between High & Lo by Brittainy C. Cherry are two of the recent ones that have really stood out. The emotions I felt whilst writing my reviews were pure from the heart, words flowed easy and I felt every word I had written in my heart did justice to the works.

 

Do you have any advice to other bloggers out there?

Don’t be afraid to ask questions and put yourself out there in the community. Have a voice that speaks what you feel about what your reading & loving and share it. Also sign up for author promotional events, participate in conversations and chat with authors as being active is important.

Thank you so much Tash for dropping by the blog to talk books.

Don’t forget you can check out Tash’s blog Book Lit Love here. Or check out her other social media sites:

Blog | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram |

Leave a Reply

