Let’s Talk Books With Jacque Duffy, Author of ‘ANZAC: The Story of a Little Goat’ & Giveaway

Let's Talk Books

 

Today I’m honoured to be hosting Aussie Author Jacque Duffy on the blog. I first meet Jacque two years ago through a mutual friend at the Romance Writers of Australia Conference in Sydney. Not only is Jacque a lot of fun to be around, but she is one hell of a creative and talented lady. As an artists, it was only natural for Jacque to transition into writing and illustrating children’s picture books. Early last year she crowd funded her ANZAC: The Story Of A Little Goat picture book, and I pitched into and received a copy of the beautiful book and I simply adore this book. You can read my review of the book here.

Jacque Duffy is the author and illustrator of 9 children’s books and two books of short stories and poetry for adults alike.

 

 

 

What are you currently reading?

The Hotel on Place Vendome by Tilar J Mazzeo, Guilty by David Baldacci, Cry of the Firebird by Amy Kuivalianen, and university text books.

  

What was the last book you bought?

Butterfish by Nick Earls

Do you prefer to read books in print or electronically?

Both, I also like to listen to books as I drive.

If I was to walk into your house right now, what would your bookshelves look like? Do you have an organisation system (genre, colour, author…) or are you just happy to go with the flow?

Funny you should ask that. I have recently purchased a book case to house part of my collection. The first shelves are for the picture books [I have 100s], at first I shelved them in order of favourites but debated on colour, author by alphabet, genre, date of publication… in the end I decided to go with the alphabetised author.

How often do you read?

Really? You can’t ask me that.

Describe what you would expect to find in your dream book?

A character to either fall in love with or like enough to see they achieve their goals by the end of the book.

How do you choose what to read next?

My mood tells me what to read.

So you’ve started a book and discover it’s not for you. Are you more likely to discard it or finish it?

I always have to finish a book. Sometimes that book is thrown against a wall but never discarded.

If you could read any book again, for the first time, what book would you choose?

There are so many, maybe The Eight by Katherine Neville.

What is about books that appeals to you so much? What is your favourite part about reading?

I love that they take me somewhere and make me feel. Also they are at your beck and call; they are there whenever you want that escape.

Was there any particular book that inspired you to start writing?

Fox in Sox by Dr Seuss, also maybe Edward Lear’s Book of Nonsense as well.

Do you have any advice to other writers out there?

Write from your heart not your head.

And lastly, what are you currently working on?

A thousand things. I have a novel series which are urban fantasy and I have a couple of picture books I am in the process of polishing up.

Thanks so much for chatting books with me Jacque!

 

   

To learn about Jacque, her books and her art, visit the following websites:

Jacque’s website | Facebook

 

To win a signed copy of ANZAC: The Story of a Little Goat, simply leave a comment below.

Open to Australian Residents only (due to shipping costs, sorry!). Entries close at midnight on Monday 25th April  2016 (aka, ANZAC DAY). With the winner contacted by email shortly after.

3 thoughts on “Let’s Talk Books With Jacque Duffy, Author of ‘ANZAC: The Story of a Little Goat’ & Giveaway

Leave a Reply

