It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

It's Monday! What Are You Reading

Previously hosted by Sheila @ Book Journey; Now Hosted by Book Date

Last week kind of flew by in a blur and I’m still kind of reeling from it.

On Wednesday night I went to go and see the advanced screening of Me Before You at the movies with my Mum and Amy from Lost In A Good Book.My heart is still reeling from the book and movie – which they did an amazing job on and I should hopefully have a review up on both later this week *Fingers crossed(

Then on Thursday, I treated my parents and myself to see the amazing musical We Will Rock You (seriously if you live in Sydney then go and book tickets ASAP to see this musical masterpiece, it finishes in a week and you really really really don’t want to miss it). Thursday also was start of our  Toy Sale at work and I kind of feel like I haven’t slept for years because of it. Grumpy and in pain because of my back, I almost didn’t dress up this year but made the last minute decision on Thursday morning to go as Anna from Frozen and had an awesome time. Albeit I came home exhausted and severely sore from the stop start of the day and non-stop customer service.

As for reading, I read a lot this week, and yet I was naughty and didn’t read those that I listed last week! To be honest I actually only stared the two books listed in my current reading section on Sudnay afternoon after randomly clicking on me ebook of Ruin & Rule and devouring it. I also binge read After You on Thursday following the movie on Wednesday night. And finished off the audio book Sweet Spot in record time… but with mixed feelings.

Hopefully this week will mean I will finally have time to get stuck into the million posts that need to go up on here. I’m also not so secretly hoping that at least two of the subscription boxes I’ve ordered arrive. I’m expecting the YA Chronicles to ship tomorrow (so possibly receive it Tuesday) and I already know that May’s Best Damn Book Box is on it’s way and hopefully will arrive this week (tracking says its in the country, so fingers crossed and all that jazz!).

Currently Reading:

Nineteen minutes and eleven seconds separated us at birth. On the official documentation, he is older . . . Although it really has nothing to do with age. What it really means is that I am, and have always been, second.

Ben and Grace Walker are twins. Growing up in a sleepy coastal town it was inevitable they’d surf. Always close, they hung out more than most brothers and sisters, surfing together for hours as the sun melted into the sea. At seventeen, Ben is a rising surf star, the golden son and the boy all the girls fall in love with. Beside him, Grace feels like she is a mere reflection of his light. In their last year of school, the world beckons, full of possibility. For Grace, finishing exams and kissing Harley Matthews is just the beginning.

Then, one day, the unthinkable. The sun sets at noon and suddenly everything that was safe and predictable is lost. And everything unravels.

BREATHING UNDER WATER is a lyrical and emotionally powerful novel about life, death and learning to breathe in between.

A stunning, operatic, epic drama, like no other. Meet Hel, an ordinary teenager – and goddess of the Underworld. Why is life so unfair? Hel tries to make the bets of it, creating gleaming halls in her dark kingdom and welcoming the dead who she is forced to host for eternity. Until eternity itself is threatened.

Francesca’s first and wonderful foray into teen.

LISTENING TO:

When a secretive American cult moves to the Gold Coast, freelance journalist Scout Davis’s investigative antennae start quivering. She sets out to expose the cult’s lunatic beliefs and bizarre practices, but when she learns the identity of a recent recruit, her quest becomes personal. And dangerous.

But Scout has her secrets too. In the dead of night she sneaks out with an underground group of yarn bombers to decorate the locality with artworks. The next mission ticks all the right boxes – it’s risky, difficult and extremely silly. However, Scout has a sneaking suspicion that the local police sergeant, Rafe Kelly, is hot on her tail.

Just Finished:

 

    

 Hoping to read this week:

 I’m having a meltdown. Not the put-her-in-the-loony-bin kind, but the rock-in-the-corner-so-I-can-breathe kind. Maybe they’re one and the same and I really do need to be put away, but I think I just need a little air. I’m bone tired. My eyes look like I haven’t slept in weeks. I’m eating my feelings and developing a pudge that isn’t gonna go anywhere if I keep binging on chocolate, nachos and wine.

I’m 28 and everyone has left me. I have no friends. My boyfriend left. My mom died, so technically she left me too. I hate my job.

I get this overwhelming ‘oh my God, is this what my life is gonna be?’ feeling and I want to die.

Curl up and die.

And since I don’t feel my heartbeat fading or my breathing getting even slightly faint, I panic that I’m gonna have to live.

Maybe Maby is a heartbreaking, and at times, hilarious story about coping with loss, finding love in New York, and learning to recognize hope in the middle of it all.

Last week on the blog:

It’s Monday! What are You Reading?

Sunday Shelve it!

What are you planning on reading this week? Let me know in the comments below 🙂

 

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. Jessy says:

    Hi! Jess,

    Even I’m hearing of this Author for the first time. Saw it at my Local library among the new books. It is a good book.

Leave a Reply

