It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

It's Monday! What Are You Reading

Previously hosted by Sheila @ Book Journey; Now Hosted by Book Date

 

Currently Reading:

The dazzlingly accomplished stories in this collection range from a vivid moment of a young girl counting the ‘water hours’, to a scorching tale of schoolyard bullying; a sleep-deprived mother; grandparents of a child at risk deciding where their loyalties lie; a young boy searching for his parents after the Sri Lanka tsunami; a widow walking the beach, and a woman secretly listening to the weather reports on radio: all trying with courage and fragility to present a face to the world that is ‘fine’. By shining her light on these quiet moments in ordinary lives, Michelle follows in a tradition which includes Olga Masters, Amy Witting and Alice Munro. It is exciting to read a contemporary collection of such breadth. Fine is an astonishing fiction debut from a future star of Australian Literature.

 

Over 25 works of fiction, poetry and non-fiction by writers from all over Australia and the world.

A powerful collection of experiences, imaginings and instructions for all writers and story lovers.

LISTENING TO:

Being one of the guys isn’t all it’s cracked up to be…So when journalist Chastity O’Neill returns to her hometown, she decides it’s time to start working on some of those feminine wiles. Two tiny problems: #1–she’s five feet eleven inches of rock-solid girl power, and #2–she’s cursed with four alpha male older brothers.

While doing a story on local heroes, she meets a hunky doctor and things start to look up. Now there’s only one problem: Trevor Meade, her first love and the one man she’s never quite gotten over–although he seems to have gotten over her just fine.

Yet the more time she spends with Dr. Perfect, the better Trevor looks. But even with the in-your-face competition, the irresistible Trevor just can’t seem to see Chastity as anything more than just one of the guys….

Just Finished:

 Hoping to read this week:

I’m having a meltdown. Not the put-her-in-the-loony-bin kind, but the rock-in-the-corner-so-I-can-breathe kind. Maybe they’re one and the same and I really do need to be put away, but I think I just need a little air. I’m bone tired. My eyes look like I haven’t slept in weeks. I’m eating my feelings and developing a pudge that isn’t gonna go anywhere if I keep binging on chocolate, nachos and wine.

I’m 28 and everyone has left me. I have no friends. My boyfriend left. My mom died, so technically she left me too. I hate my job.

I get this overwhelming ‘oh my God, is this what my life is gonna be?’ feeling and I want to die.

Curl up and die.

And since I don’t feel my heartbeat fading or my breathing getting even slightly faint, I panic that I’m gonna have to live.

Maybe Maby is a heartbreaking, and at times, hilarious story about coping with loss, finding love in New York, and learning to recognize hope in the middle of it all.

If you spend too long in a small town, you’ll eventually fade away. And on the eve of my twenty-fifth birthday, I realised that I was practically invisible.’

After spending a lifetime following her domineering sister’s glitzy ways, Lily Tate is finally ready to step out on her own.
Breaking away from Jasmine is difficult, but ditching the ugly reputation she’s gained after years of sketchy behaviour is even harder.
Thankfully, she’s not going it alone.
After turning her back on her old life, Lily gains a brand new support system – namely a reluctant new best friend and a boy who might be important.
With their encouragement, there’s every chance that the real Lily Tate might step forward.

Last week on the blog:

Let’s Talk Books With Annie West, Author of The Flaw In Raffaele’s Revenge

Australian Women Writer’s Challenge 2016 (AWW2016): Update 6 (June)

It’s Monday! What are You Reading?

Sunday Shelve it!

What are you planning on reading this week? Let me know in the comments below 🙂

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

