REVIEW: Shadow Lily by GJ Walker-Smith (Saving Wishes 6.5)

Published: 7th July 2016

Publisher: Self-published

Pages: 131

Format: ARC from author ( I also pre-ordered an ebook)

RRP: $4.99

5/5 Stars

‘If you spend too long in a small town, you’ll eventually fade away. And on the eve of my twenty-fifth birthday, I realised that I was practically invisible.’

After spending a lifetime following her domineering sister’s glitzy ways, Lily Tate is finally ready to step out on her own.
Breaking away from Jasmine is difficult, but ditching the ugly reputation she’s gained after years of sketchy behaviour is even harder.
Thankfully, she’s not going it alone.
After turning her back on her old life, Lily gains a brand new support system – namely a reluctant new best friend and a boy who might be important.
With their encouragement, there’s every chance that the real Lily Tate might step forward.

When this little gem of a book arrived in my inbox earlier this week, I literally dropped everything  I was reading and devoured it in one massive gulp. You see GJ Walker-Smith is not only a must-buy author for me, she is a drop-everything-and-read-this-instant author who I repetitively hand over my heart and soul to when I pick up any of her books. She’s never led me wrong so far, and Shadow Lily is no exception.

Years of my life were waster following Jasmine’s airhead ways, and I used to dress like a glitzed up hooker because of it.

Shadow Lily is a sweet novella with a whole lot of heart. Back in Piper’s Cover, Lily Tate is trying desperately to rise above and reinvent herself, or at the very least distance herself from the girl she was years before. Lily quickly learns that small town’s have long memories and as the town divides she has to choose who is better to fight for – that of her own well being or her families? With cameo’s from many of Piper’s Cove much loved characters – Adam, Bridget, Gabi and Alex – and some not so missed vllians – Jasmine & Lisa – and a fantastic case of new secondary characters like the hunky local vet, Noah Hunt,  Shadow Lily is sure to hit all the spots with readers from every walk of life.

Told simultaneously through alternating POVs of both ex-beautifuls Lily Tate and our much loved heroine Charli Decarie, this book serves as a poignant reminder of the importance and often forgotten power of family, friendships and self worth. It’s beautiful in it’s destruction, and I just wanted to reach through the pages and hug the characters involved. The idea of jumping up and down and volunteering as tribute (to be their friend) also crossed my mind more than once.

There is a perfect moment towards the end where the title just clicks oh-so-perfectly into place and I found myself simultaneously grinning from ear-to-ear whilst crying at the same time. Such is the power of GJ Walker-Smith’s words. Such is the power of this story. You will laugh, and you will be moved. Friendships will be reconsidered and the future re-evaluated.

At twenty-five, I was supposed to have it all together. I wasn’t meant to be trying to prove my worth to the world.

Shadow Lily is a novella for anyone who has ever made a mistake or woken up one day only to realise this isn’t how they want to live their lives. It’s a book about second chances, about trusting yourself and learning who you can trust in return. It’s kind of perfect, and I can’t wait to dive right back into the pages in the near future.

 To learn more abut GJ Walker-Smith head to the following social media sites:

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads |

 

To purchase a copy of Shadow Lily, visit the following online retailers:

ibooks |

Leave a Reply

