Let’s Talk Books With Bronwyn Parry, Author of Sunset Shadow (Goodabri Bk 3)

Let's Talk Books

 

Today I am truly privileged (and super excited – that’s putting it mildly!) to be hosting Bronwyn Parry in this week’s edition of Let’s Talk Books. For those of you who haven’t yet had the pleasure of reading a Bronwyn Parry book, you are in for a real treat today!

Hands down Bronwyn Parry is one of my favourite Australian authors so when I tentatively asked if she would consider being part of this feature and she said yes, I literally starred at my computer in shock, before breaking out (in mind if not in body) into the wildest happy dance. I’ve been living on cloud nine ever since 🙂

Bronwyn Parry is the author of 6 full length romantic suspense novels and two novellas. She writes utterly gripping, fast paced crime stories set against the backdrop of small Australian country towns. Each story is fraught with the issues and fragilities these towns face, while featuring larger than life characters with tremendous heart and courage, and the odd cunning and devious opponent. Because of this, Brownyn Parry has been labelled on more than one occasion as Australia’s answer to Nora Roberts!

Bronwyn’s 6th book, Sunset Shadow releases in a couple of days (August 9), so if you haven’t picked up one of her books yet, what are you waiting for?

I grew up surrounded by books, and have a love of reading and stories. Commercial fiction, literary fiction, children’s literature, history – my bookshelves are forever overflowing!

I write gritty romantic suspense, set in Australia’s wild places. My first two books, As Darkness Falls and Dark Country are both available in Australia, NZ, the UK, and Germany, and as ebooks in many other countries through the main online retailers

I live on 100 acres of beautiful bushland in the New England Tablelands of NSW, Australia, with my husband and three border collies, and I love to travel in Australia’s wild places.

 

 

       

Without Further ado, I give you all Bronwyn Parry!

Thanks so much, Jess, for inviting me to your blog!

What are you currently reading?

I’ve just finished Pamela Hart’s The Soldier’s Wife – a wonderful book! Now I have to choose between her next one, The War Bride, or Jenn J McLeod’s The Other Side of the Season, or Charlotte Nash’s The Horseman. So many great books ­– I wish I could have a reading binge!

What was the last book you bought?

Shannon Garner’s Labour of Love – a wonderful, heart-warming memoir of her experience as a surrogate.

Do you prefer to read books in print or electronically?

These days, because of some eye-sight issues, I find it easier to read electronically, where I can adjust the font size and brightness. I mostly read on my laptop, and that means I can knit or stitch while I read – a double win!

What do your bookshelves look like? Do you have an organisation system (genre, colour, author…) or are you just happy to go with the flow?

My bookshelves are all overflowing . . . Basically the books are grouped into subject areas. Romance and crime are mostly in the spare room. Children’s books and old favourite YA books are in the spare room wardrobe. Classics and old favourite adult fiction on one bookshelf in the living room; another one has textile and craft books (and CSS design and thesauri – because there was just enough space there!) Historic costume books also in the living room. History, literary and genre theory, and quilting books in the sunroom.

How often do you read?

I read every day, but sadly, not enough time for fiction at present. There’s this PhD that I’m trying to finish . . .

Describe what you would expect to find in your dream book?

Well-realised characters who are emotionally courageous; a gripping plot; a fascinating setting; and skilled use of language. I want to be there with the characters.

How do you choose what to read next?

Mostly by my mood – sometimes I want something light, sometimes I want something that will really absorb me.

So you’ve started a book and discover it’s not for you. Are you more likely to discard it or finish it?

I’ll discard it. Life is far too short, and there are too many good books, to use precious time reading a book that I’m not enjoying.

If you could read any book again, for the first time, what book would you choose?

Joanna Bourne’s The Black Hawke. I love her books – beautifully written and exquisitely structured, with fascinating characters. The way she gradually reveals Adrian’s story is masterful.

What is about books that appeals to you so much? What is your favourite part about reading?

Characters. I love reading about people who could be real. I like to come to know them and follow their journey – hopefully one that will end optimistically!

Can you tell us a bit about your writing style. Are you a pantser or a plotter? Do you prefer to write in 1st or 3rd person? Are you an early riser writer or a late night owl writer?

I’m mostly a pantser, although I do have some ideas about the plot when I start which may or may not end up being in the story. I’ve always written in 3rd person, and I use both the hero and heroine’s POVs in my books – but not anybody else’s. I have somewhat reluctantly become an early riser as our three border collies need walking, although it is lovely strolling through the bush in the early light with our old dog! However, I don’t get much writing done in the mornings. My best writing time is at night, when it’s dark outside and everything is still and quiet.

Was there any particular book that inspired you to start writing?

I don’t think there was a particular book, because coming from a book-loving family there were so many, but I suspect that Jo in Little Women may have been influential in allowing me to imagine myself as a writer.

Do you have any advice to other writers out there?

I encourage aspiring writers to sit down and write: to play with different story ideas, to experiment with different styles, to try different things and stretch themselves until they find their own voice – the stories that they want to tell, and the way that they want to tell them.

And lastly, what are you currently working on?

I’m currently working on two novellas, as the creative practice component of my PhD. One is contemporary-set, and linked to my Dungirri series. The other is something of a change for me – still a romantic suspense, but this time set in 1816, in Yorkshire. I hope to have more news about both of those within a couple of months!

Goodabri Series:

       

Dungirri Series:

    

Novellas:

                                                       

To learn more about Bronwyn Parry, visit the following social media sites: Author Website | SUNSET SHADOW’S PAGE | Facebook | TWITTER

‘Dammit, Tess, he doesn’t seem worth protecting.’

‘I’m not protecting him, sarge,’ she said. She dropped her gaze, biting her lip, and for the first time in his experience she spoke in a small voice. ‘I’m protecting me.’For police officers Steve Fraser and Tess Ballard, a split-second decision saves the lives of fifty members of a cult ­- but also puts their careers on the line. Tess’s work is everything to her; she’s forged a new life through sheer determination, so when her past returns to haunt her, Steve must race through wild country if he is to save the people he most cares about

.In Sunset Shadows, the thrilling new novel by multi-award-winning author Bronwyn Parry, you will feel immersed in the dramatic beauty, isolation, wind and the sun of the deep Australian bush – and its sinister shadows . .

Releases: 9th August 2016

To purchase a copy of Sunset Shadow, visit the following online retailers: BOOKTOPIA | ANGUS & ROBERTSON’S BOOKWORLD | HACHETTE AUSTRALIA |

 

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “Let’s Talk Books With Bronwyn Parry, Author of Sunset Shadow (Goodabri Bk 3)

  1. Lily Malone says:

    I haven’t read any of Bronwyn’s books before. A male friend in the town where I live rates Bronwyn as his favourite Aussie rural romance/romantic suspense authors and has all her books. It’s a little unusual to find a bloke reading in this genre, but Tom loves rural romance.

  2. lauraboon2014 says:

    I love Bronwyn’s books. So realistic but with interesting diversions too. And I have to say I also love Joanna Bourne’s books. If I could read any book over for the first time again it would be her book The SpyMaster’s Lady. Same series as The Black Hawk

    • Jess says:

      I have read any of Bourne’s books yet. I might have to track some down!

      But yes, Bronwyn’s books are just something else, and her newest one doesn’t disappoint either!

Leave a Reply

