It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

It's Monday! What Are You Reading

Previously hosted by Sheila @ Book Journey; Now Hosted by Book Date

T minus 5 days until the Sydney Author Event! I’m super excited to be attending this event on Saturday. I had tickets to the 2014 one but had a dance concert on the day so I couldn’t go. This year I’m assisting one of the authors there, but also have tickets to attend as a fan and I could not be more excited if I tried. I spent a good chunk of Sunday getting read for this event, and next week’s RWA Conference. So for once I’m organised and ready and raring to go! Are you going to the Sydney Author Event? If so leave a comment below, I’d love to catch up with everyone I can. … any excuse to talk books with fellow book lovers and I’m there!

Because of this weekend’s event, I’m strictly reading SAE Attending authors now. I’d hoped to have a lot more read by now, but life had other plans and got in the way.

 

Currently Reading:

 

I’m having a meltdown. Not the put-her-in-the-loony-bin kind, but the rock-in-the-corner-so-I-can-breathe kind. Maybe they’re one and the same and I really do need to be put away, but I think I just need a little air. I’m bone tired. My eyes look like I haven’t slept in weeks. I’m eating my feelings and developing a pudge that isn’t gonna go anywhere if I keep binging on chocolate, nachos and wine.

I’m 28 and everyone has left me. I have no friends. My boyfriend left. My mom died, so technically she left me too. I hate my job.

I get this overwhelming ‘oh my God, is this what my life is gonna be?’ feeling and I want to die.

Curl up and die.

And since I don’t feel my heartbeat fading or my breathing getting even slightly faint, I panic that I’m gonna have to live.

Maybe Maby is a heartbreaking, and at times, hilarious story about coping with loss, finding love in New York, and learning to recognize hope in the middle of it all.

 

LISTENING TO:

 

Just Finished:

 Hoping to read this week:

‘Dammit, Tess, he doesn’t seem worth protecting.’

‘I’m not protecting him, sarge,’ she said. She dropped her gaze, biting her lip, and for the first time in his experience she spoke in a small voice. ‘I’m protecting me.’

For police officers Steve Fraser and Tess Ballard, a split-second decision saves the lives of fifty members of a cult ­- but also puts their careers on the line. Tess’s work is everything to her; she’s forged a new life through sheer determination, so when her past returns to haunt her, Steve must race through wild country if he is to save the people he most cares about.

In SUNSET SHADOWS, the thrilling new novel by multi-award-winning author Bronwyn Parry, you will feel immersed in the dramatic beauty, isolation, wind and the sun of the deep Australian bush – and its sinister shadows . . .

 

Last week on the blog:

Let’s Talk Books With Bronwyn Parry, Author of Sunset Shadow (Goodabri Bk 3)

REVIEW: Harry Potter & The Cursed Child Script Book by  J.K. Rowling, John Tiffany and Jack Thorne  4/5 Stars

Top Ten Tuesday:  Top Ten Books You’d Buy Right This Second If Someone Handed You A Fully Loaded Gift Card

It’s Monday! What are You Reading?

Sunday Shelve it!

Australian Women Writer’s Challenge 2016 (AWW2016): Update 7 (July)

What are you planning on reading this week? Let me know in the comments below 🙂

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

    • Jess says:

      Hey Jessy!
      That book is meant to be brilliant. We sold out of it at work in two days when it was first released! I had never even heard of it until then! Are you enjoying it?

Leave a Reply

